Bookish Things · Reviews

A Review: EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire

YAAAY FOR A NON-SPOILER REVIEW!!! (And a short one!)

I usually suck at these cause I just want to talk about everything, but for some reason when I sat down to write this review, it came out sans-spoilers πŸ™‚

25526296
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY
By: Seanan McGuire
Rating: 3.5/5 ⭐️’s

REVIEW:

This was such a wonderful surprise and a really fun (and sometimes creepy) read! I especially fell in love with the whimsical writing style – it fit so well with the theme of the story. Also the diversity in this book was just A+++

I had my eye on this book because I had heard that the main character is asexual. And since I’ve never really read a book with an open asexual character, I was really excited! The book didn’t disappoint, but…about 3/4 of the way through the book, I did see some tweets about how the asexual representation in the book wasn’t actually good representation. I didn’t end up reading the tweets cause I didn’t want to spoil myself, and after finishing the book, I couldn’t find them again, so I’m afraid I don’t know if it was done right. I do know that the asexual spectrum is…well, a spectrum. And it’s hard to deny someone’s experiences as being authentic just because they don’t match with the “norm”. Hopefully I can find those tweets again at some point and see what people have been saying.

I loved the creepy, murder mystery aspect of the story! I’ll admit that I was guessing for most of the book (but then I suck at guessing stuff like that). After that moment with Loriel though, I knew who it was right away. I will admit that this book is quite gruesome and graphic when it comes to describing the murder scenes, so that’s something to be aware of.

I found all the characters to be really interesting (especially Kade), but I felt like the book itself was too short. I wanted more character development and more story. I felt like Nancy’s character didn’t do much at all except follow the other characters around and help dispose dead bodies. And the end was sort of sudden?? I don’t know why, but I wasn’t expecting it to happen that soon. I was almost hoping it would show Nancy moving on (somewhat) and helping Kade out with the school.

The ending was pretty much why this book didn’t get 4 stars. But overall, I loved the writing and the concept was so unique and different! I loved hearing about the different worlds these characters went to and what they did there. Highly recommend since it’s a quick, easy read!

(Also, if you’ve seen this before, it’s because it’s from my Goodreads account! πŸ˜‰)

(And don’t forget to check out my last post!)

–Sakina ❀️

2 thoughts on “A Review: EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire

Leave a Reply!

