Bookish Things

May & June Wrap-Up!

Hey everyone! I thought I would share with you guys the books I ended up devouring in the past two months! Despite being super busy, I ended up reading quite a few books! May was probably my best reading month in a long while – not just because I ended up reading so much, but I also discovered a new favourite author!

MAY WRAP-UP

28574949

THE MOTH AND THE FLAME (The Wrath and the Dawn #0.25)
By: RenΓ©e Ahdieh
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Review: LITERALLY SO DEAD RIGHT NOW (taken from my Goodreads)

 

 

 

 

 
28574935
THE CROWN AND THE ARROW (The Wrath and the Dawn #0.5)

By: RenΓ©e Ahdieh
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Review: So short! I wanted more of Khalid’s perspective!

 

 

 

 

 

2015-05-16-1431809026-4581001-thewrathandthedawn
THE WRATH AND THE DAWN
By: RenΓ©e Ahdieh
Rating: 4.5/5
Review: Check out my review here (spoilers!)

 

 

 

 

 

28668275
THE MIRROR AND THE MAZE (The Wrath and the Dawn #1.5)
By: RenΓ©e Ahdieh
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Review: DEAD

 

 

 

 

 

23308084
THE ROSE AND THE DAGGER (The Wrath and the Dawn #2)
By: RenΓ©e Ahdieh
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
Review: Link to my Goodreads review (spoilery!)

 

 

 

 

 

10194157
SHADOW AND BONE
By: Leigh Bardugo
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
ReviewWow this was a good read! I absolutely loved the world that Leigh has created – there were hints of Tamora Pierce there, and knowing that Leigh is a fan of her books made me so happy!! I really liked Alina as a character. She’s complex and multi-faceted…I just really felt for her and I love that about a character. I knew the Darkling was evil going into this (cause spoilers from everyone lol), but I really fell for him. Then when it was revealed what his real plans were, I almost didn’t want to believe it. Everything took a turn then and I honestly don’t understand how people love the Darkling??? Like what is there to love about him? I’ve started Siege and Storm and literally there’s nothing to redeem his character. He’s terrifying, cruel, and a monster. And I hate him so much that I’m getting flashbacks from when I read Order of the Phoenix for the first time and discovered Umbridge’s character. Nope nope nope. I can’t stand his creepiness! But the story was interesting and it made me want to know what would happen next! It did feel a bit slow for a lot of it, mostly cause Alina was learning Grisha theory and her powers, but I never felt bored and flew through it!

 

14061955-2
SIEGE AND STORM
By: Leigh Bardugo
Rating: β­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈ
Review: Here’s the link to my review on Goodreads! Again, it’s mostly spoilery!

 

 

 

 

 

16068905
FANGIRL
By: Rainbow Rowell
Rating: β­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈ
Review: WOW WOW WOW was this an incredible surprise! (Spoilery review here)

 

 

 

 

JUNE WRAP-UP

 

14061957
RUIN AND RISING
By: Leigh Bardugo
Rating: β­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈ
Review: I CAN’T BELIEVE I WAITED SO LONG TO READ THIS SERIES! I know most people didn’t like the last book in this trilogy, but I absolutely loved it! Here’s my very spoilery review.

 

 

 

 

25707621
SOFIA KHAN IS NOT OBLIGED
By; Ayisha Malik
Rating: β­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈ
Review: While I really enjoyed this book, the ending has me liking it a bit less and less as I think about. I wrote a review on here, so you can check it out if you’ve read the book!

 

 

 

 

80af5db653156dd52f5f93678ccb2293
THE PUREBLOOD PRETENSE
By: murkywatermatter
Rating: β­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈβ­οΈ
Review: I haven’t actually read a proper fanfiction story in forever! My friend Shirin told me about this series and how it’s Harry Potter meets Song of the Lioness…so I obviously couldn’t stop myself! Here’s my mini review:

Wow this was amazing!! If you’re a fan of Tamora Pierce and Harry Potter, I highly, highly recommend this! It’s fanfiction, yes, but it’s SO GOOD!!

The amount of FEELS this story threw at me, like OH MY GOSH MY HEART πŸ™ˆπŸ˜­

The only complaint I have is that occasionally the writing style was a bit confusing, and the somewhat old-fashion dialogue was a bit different, especially from reading the Harry Potter books. It fit with the Song of the Lioness theme though!

Speaking of Song of the Lioness…I loved all the connections between Harry’s story and Alanna’s! Everything Violet (author) did was so ingenious and very well planned! She’s an excellent writer and I’m really looking forward to reading the second book!

My opinions on Snape and Draco (the Malfoys in general), and especially Slytherins has changed! Even though this isn’t canon, I wish it was, because Snape is SO MUCH BETTER! And Draco is literally my adorable smol child!!! I also fell in love with Pansy and I loved seeing more of her since she wasn’t mentioned much in the books.

Also…THE MARAUDERS *insert squealing* I AM LITERALLY IN HEAVEN BEING ABLE TO SEE MORE OF SIRIUS AND REMUS!! Sirius’ letter to Rigel at the very end broke my heart, and when Rigel/Harry ran to him at King’s Cross, I wanted to cry with happiness. TOO GOOD. TOO PURE. TOO MANY GOOD FEELS.

 

25526296
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY
By: Seanan McGuire
Rating:
Review: I’ll be posting my review of this on my blog soon!

 

 

 

 

 

Wow πŸ˜… If you made it through that you deserve a pat on the back! Those are all the books I’ve read in the past two months! Have you read any of these? What did you think?

 

8 thoughts on “May & June Wrap-Up!

  1. You’ve read such awesome books over the last two months. You definitely should read Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom! I hope July is going just as well, if not better, for you! Great post.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Just checked out your blog and you’re doing really well! I think posting regularly really helps and interacting with other bloggers, commenting on their posts etc. helps too! As for book reviewing, it took me close to a year to figure out what works for me. I tend to write reviews best right after I finish books, but it’s really about trying different formats and seeing what works for you!

      Like

  2. Looks like you had a great couple of months Sakina! Exciting to see that you read the Grisha trilogy, I really enjoyed that series when I read it last year! Have you read Six of Crows yet, or is that next on your list? I also LOVE that you included a fanfiction because they don’t really get any recognition on Goodreads; people read ff all the time but it never counts towards our GR goals, which is a shame. Great wrap up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I was planning to read Six of Crows later this year, but I loved Shadow and Bone so much that I’m thinking of buying the new editions when they come out, rereading them next year, and then finally picking up Six of Crows. (I don’t want it to be over 😩) I actually ended up counting the ff to my Goodreads goal! I found it on Goodreads, so I was like why not? Plus it was like 22 chapters, and some chapters were 20,000 words long so it definitely counts as a book lol

      Like

Leave a Reply!

