Bookish Things

Top 10 Classics I Need to Read Before I Die

I know I’m not the only one who struggles to read classics. It’s kind of a rite of passage – almost – if you’re someone who enjoys reading. While I don’t believe you need to have read classics to be considered “well-read”, I think it’s a good way to get insight into other time periods.

Here are a few books that I hope to read at some point!

b2b303e5687d4927ca31251928c6ff7a
Anna keeps bugging me to read this 👀👀👀

 

9781770497313
The fact that I have yet to read this shows how terrible a Canadian I am 🙈

 

Both of these are super long and and kind of intimidating…

 

The only Jane Austen books I’ve read are Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility. I enjoyed both quite a bit (P&P more than S&S), and I’d love to get to her other books at some point.

d79f623390a79757c99b9a094fb5e38a
I’ve actually already read this one, but it was really good (from what I can remember) and I feel like I need to read it again now that I’m older!
3ab972a1a9ba2ddea906f86f04cc161e.jpg
A book I’ve had on my shelf for over a year and still haven’t gotten around to.

 

2b1e678646fbca990b7a9302c95ec9ee
Another one that’s been on my shelf for over a year

 

5107
My brother actually read this for English in grade 12 and said it was really good. I don’t think I’ve ever met someone whose read this and hasn’t enjoyed it, plus it’s quite short!

 

865
Last but not least…no idea what this one is about, but everyone talks about it, so I kinda need to read it.

 

Have you read any of these? Which was your favourite? What classics do you hope to read at some point?

–Sakina

17 thoughts on “Top 10 Classics I Need to Read Before I Die

  1. OMG SAMEE. I need to read The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger as soon as possible. I recently read another of the classics I had intended to read much earlier *ahem* To Kill A Mockingbird*ahem*and I absolutely loved it. And what’s more,both TCITR and TKAM have been on a bazillion banned book lists! This makes me even more excited to read TCITR. *guess who’s a rebel?* 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember really liking Catcher in the Rye. I’m a big fan of Salinger; my husband, not so much. He’s one of the few people I know who actively dislikes that writer.

    Austen is a fairly easy writer to get through, I think. Of the ones you have left to read, I’d suggest Persuasion. That’s my favorite story of all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was a huge Anne of Green Gables fan when I was younger. She was such a cool character! I’ve actually got the entire series.

    I’m not that much of a classics person otherweise. I didn’t know that Paulo Coelho’s books are considered classic literature but I did have a phase in which I read almost all of his books.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve read Anna Karenina, P&P, and Emma.
    I started Wuthering Heights, but never finished it.

    P&P and Emma were definitely my favorites. I really want to get around to reading the rest of Austens works, but her writing style is so draining that it isn’t that fun to read it during the school year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

