Bookish Things

The Smashing and Dashing 2016 Character Awards #BookTag

You all know PaperFury, right? Aka Cake Queen, Ruler of Dragons??? If you don’t read her blog, you definitely should! It’s funny, sarcastic, and there’s always cake! Plus, I’m constantly trying to get her to read Tamora Pierce, which she still hasn’t, but she did read Prince of Thorns this year, so I’ll forgive her.

Anyway, her Royal Awesomeness came up with a really cool book tag, which I just had to do! Here’s the link to her blogpost (GO FOLLOW HER!) and a pic of what it looks like cause I’m green with envy and wish my blog could be as colourful and pretty.

Screen Shot 2016-12-25 at 2.25.46 PM.png

(Also, slight warning…this post is going to be FULL of Tamora Pierce characters, cause that’s pretty much all I read this year. But, maybe if Her Majesty sees this, it might convince her to read Tamora Pierce. I have been learning all manners of trickery this past year, partly from her and partly from Tamora Pierce, so I can’t help myself.)

1. MOST RELATABLE CHARACTER

KEL from PROTECTOR OF THE SMALL – She’s quiet (like me), calm, isn’t rash, doesn’t like to show her emotions, and she would do whatever it takes to make sure her friends and family are safe. Pretty much the characteristics of a Cancer? Oh, and she’s stubborn, though I don’t think I’m as stubborn as her! (I’m not bragging, I have some not so great qualities too 🙈)

DOVE from TRICKSTER’S CHOICE – She’s also quiet, but very observant. And she doesn’t let her emotions cloud her judgement. I like to think I’m like that. She’s definitely a thinker, and probably spends her nights in bed sorting her thoughts and getting no sleep, which is so like me!

2. MOST PURE AND PRECIOUS ANIMAL COMPANION

Okay, not even fair. ACHOO from the BEKA COOPER trilogy is literally the cutest dog in the world!

KIT from THE IMMORTALS is a baby dragon and SHE CAN TURN DIFFERENT COLOURS AND SHE WHISTLES AND COLLECTS STONES AND GIVES THEM TO PEOPLE!!!

JUMP, from PROTECTOR OF THE SMALL – an ugly dog (I didn’t say this, the book did), but he is so loyal and protective and bites all the bad guys!

3. FIERCEST FIGHTER.

ANNABETH from PERCY JACKSON – I mean her mother is Athena, so what can you expect?

SANDRY from the CIRCLE books – You don’t need a sword or a knife to kill people when you can strangle them with their clothes!

ALANNA from SONG OF THE LIONESS – You also don’t need to be tall to kill people. It actually gives you an advantage. You can dive through their legs and cut them off at the same time! OH and did I mention she’s 43 and still a badass with her sword!


4. MOST AMAZING SIDEKICK

GROVER from PERCY JACKSON. Cause he’s adorably scared all the time, which makes him so relatable to us average human beings. Plus he’s funny, which is another very important characteristic for an amazing sidekick!

THE DARKINGS from TRICKSTER’S QUEEN!!! 😍😍😍 They count, right? Cause they’re cute and squishy and they like to pretend to be necklaces. And obviously they make the best spies!!!

5. ONE YOU ARE SURPRISED YOU LOVED.

SORA’S QUEST by T.H. SHREFFLER. It was free on my Kindle app, so I downloaded it and was pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t perfect, and I wasn’t really sure about the main character for the first quarter of the book, but she grew on me, and the side characters definitely were my favourite!

6. BEST SASSMASTER.

 NEALAN OF FREAKING QUEENSCOVE. Do you want an example? Yes? I thought so:

Wyldon’s eyebrows snapped together. “You have been told to mind your manners, Page Nealan. I will have an apology for your insolence.”

Nealan bowed deeply. “An apology for general insolence, your lordship, or some particular offense.”

Also, I will admit…RHYS from ACOMAF. I’d actually love to have a sass competition b/w Neal and Rhys. Can someone arrange that??

tp__neal_by_minuiko-d3lby5b.png
😍😍😍

7. BEST ANTI-HERO AND MORALLY GREY GRAPE.

This one is a hard one. I don’t think I’ve read a book this year with an anti-hero as a main character. The closest person I can come up with is NICO D’ANGELO from PERCY JACKSON. There’s also a character from the BEKA COOPER books, but I can’t tell you cause it’s a spoiler 🙊😂

Oh and CRASH from SORA’S QUEST. Cause he’s an assassin with absolutely no emotions, but he’s a cute little devil underneath the black suit.

8. BEST WORST VILLAIN TO HATE.

That same character from BEKA COOPER who cannot be named cause spoilers. I’m picking this character cause IT STILL MAKES NO SENSE TO ME AND I AM STILL HURT AND CONFUSED AND I REFUSE TO BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED.

9. TRULY ASTOUNDING WORST YA PARENTS

I hope RUBINYAN and IMAJANE count from TRICKSTER’S QUEEN. They do some horrible, unspeakable things. I don’t even know what to say…

Eleanor’s step-dad from ELEANOR AND PARK. I don’t remember much of this book, but her step-dad sucks and deserves to be run over by a truck multiple times.

IMG_2108


10. TRULY ASTOUNDING BEST YA PARENTS

GEORGE COOPER. Literally me while trying to explain how I feel about George…

giphy.gif

Also, PIERS and ILANE of MINDELAN aka Kel’s amazing parents! First of all, they let their daughter be the first openly female page after Alanna the Lioness. Secondly, they actually make appearances in the books (not like those other books where the parents disappear after the first chapter). That final scene in SQUIRE broke my heart – literally tears all around 😭😭😭 They’re just so supportive and loving and AHHH…too good!

11. TOOT TOOT BEST SHIP OF THEM ALL!

AZRIEL and ELAINE – nope, they are not canon. BUT I SAW SOMETHING SO I’M SHIPPING THEM.

Can’t mention anyone else, cause spoilers 😔

12. THE MOST IN NEED OF PROTECTION

CASSIAN and AZRIEL from ACOMAF. I swear if something happens to my babies…

giphy-2.gif

 

13. MOST BORING AS A BARNACLE 

Every Rainbow Rowell character I’ve read this year 🙈 I’m sorry.

 

14. BEST LITTLE ROYAL

DOVASARY from TRICKSTER’S. Cause of the reasons mentioned above.

GARETH from MASTIFF. He’s so brave and tiny, but has a big heart and cares about people!

 

15. VERY SURPRISED YOU’RE STILL ALIVE

NEAL cause of this: “A friend had commented once that Neal had the gift for making someone want to punch him just for saying hello.” WHY IS HE STILL ALIVE? I DON’T KNOW, BUT I AM NOT COMPLAINING.

EVERYONE WHO IS STILL ALIVE BY THE END OF TRICKSTER’S QUEEN. So. much. death.

 

16. BEST AT HORRIBLE DECISION MAKING

TRIS from the CIRCLE books. She gets mad and causes a tornado to swallow up the nearest house. Not the best way to solve problems, but it is effective.

SAFI from TRUTHWITCH. She is so not the cool-headed, I’ll-think-things-through type of person. She goes with her gut and messes things up and loses her friend Iseult ALL THE TIME.

img_3194

17. CUTEST DORK

TRIS cause she always has her nose in a book and she likes to learn how to do everything, even if it kills her.

18. CLEVEREST LITTLE HELLION 

BRIAR from the CIRCLE books. Imagine a little street hellion, who knows how to use knives and can outsmart the biggest of street rats, while at the same time he has a super gentle touch when healing injured people and caring for his bonsai trees. OH…and he kills armies using PLANTS.

9f782ac152e42be88c7cd6713b62d6be

19. MOST IN NEED OF A NAP

Definitely KEL. Between waking up super early to get in some pattern dances, to constantly thinking of others and pitching in to do the hard and dirty work…she deserves more of a vacation, than a nap. But knowing her, she’ll never take a vacation cause she’d get too restless.

CRASH, again, from SORA’S QUEST. Sora says herself that Crash doesn’t sleep at all, but just stands guard all night long. I’m not sure if he’s actually human though, so maybe he doesn’t need sleep.

20. WANT TO READ MORE ABOUT YOU

EVERY TAMORA PIERCE CHARACTER!!! Specifically more of KEL cause she’s my favourite. Oh and DOVE, cause I want to see what happens to her. And KALASIN, and MAURA, and NEAL, and NUMAIR…I could go on and on and never stop. Also, more BRIAR too!

Okay, that’s the whole thing. I think I may have overdone Tamora Pierce. Just a little…but maybe you’re all now convinced – ahem, ahem, Cait. The first book in the Numair trilogy is coming out in 2018, so you have over a year to read all of Tamora Pierce’s books and then flail with me 😊

I’d love to see your answers to some of these questions! Don’t forget to follow Cait – trust me you won’t regret it!

3 thoughts on “The Smashing and Dashing 2016 Character Awards #BookTag

Leave a Reply!

