Reviews

Top 4 Worst Reads of 2016

What better way to say farewell than to recap on my worst reads of 2016? It’s kind of like a tribute to all the horrible things that have happened this past year, right? I swear I’m not pessimistic πŸ˜‚

(Also, I tried to find a fifth book, but couldn’t, so you’ll have to settle with my top 4!)

LANDLINEΒ + ELEANOR AND PARK
By: Rainbow Rowell

Unfortunately, contemporary books are either a hit or miss for me, and in this case, both of these did not live up to the hype. I read Landline earlier in the year and just didn’t like it. I’m not a fan of Rainbow Rowell’s writing and her relationships just didn’t feel realistic. I tried again with Eleanor and Park, hoping that reading through the perspective of a younger main character might make a difference, but it didn’t. I’m really picky when it comes to romances. The problem is, having never been in a relationship, my idea of a realistic relationship is probably definitely not accurate. So I sort of blame my lack of experience and also, I’m just not a big fan of contemporary.

 

THE GUIDE
By: Justin Chandler

28259776

Another disappointment. This was the first book I read for a blog tour, and though I had a wonderful experience with the blog tour itself, the book was a huge letdown. The premise was definitely interesting – a boy gets assigned a Guide, who’s supposed to help him get through life and make the right decisions for his future, but then gets sucked up into this mystery of trying to figure out who this man actually is. Interesting, right? But unfortunately, there were a lot of parts that were confusing and difficult to understand, and I started to get Harry Potter vibes with a lot of the characters, which bothered me.


A COURT OF MIST AND FURY

By: Sarah J. Maas

img_3618

This will either come as a huge shock, or you were probably expecting this. I still haven’t written a review for this book. I’m planning for a reread (yes, I know it’s going to be torturous πŸ™ˆ) in April before ACOWAR comes out, so hopefully I’ll be able to write a review then. I LOVED the side characters, but Feyre annoyed me and Rhys – I can totally see why so many people have fallen in love with him, but – I can’t forgive him for what he did in ACOTAR. Also, I really started to hate SJM’s writing and Feyre’s inner monologue bothered me so much that I wanted to chuck this book at a wall. I’m sorry to all of you who loved this book. Unfortunately, I was one of the few who didn’t.

What were your worst reads of 2016? Let me know in the comments below!

–Sakina

8 thoughts on “Top 4 Worst Reads of 2016

  1. I am so sad you didn’t like it but I know I didn’t like some books you loved! It’s always interesting to see what we think of books, some we both love and then some we have completely different opinions!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read E&P a while ago so I don’t remember much from it. BUT I can see how the romance might not work. I remember having a hard time connecting because they were so young. As for ACOMAF, I actually didn’t enjoy it as much as everyone else either. I don’t remember my rating, but it was just okay. It was basically a romance in a fantasy setting, not a fantasy with a romance in it. lol AND SO NOT YA. omg those sex scenes.

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha definitely not YA πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ It felt like ACOMAF focused more on the romance than the fantasy and that’s what I didn’t like about it, cause I didn’t care for the romance.

      Like

Leave a Reply!

