Bookish Things

Five Tips On How To Read More While In School!

School can be overwhelming. It’s pretty much a conglomeration of stress, stress, and more stress. But you know what can help? Reading. Yup, reading is a great way to relieve yourself of that stress! It takes your mind off of school for a bit and allows you to focus on someone else’s problems. Because who doesn’t want to worry about a dark, mysterious assassin who’s about to murder the main character, or a huge battle against dragons, or a cute little contemporary story about a girl who falls in love with a toad?

I’ll be honest. Reading while in school has been something I’ve struggled with a lot. During elementary school (so from ages 4-13), reading was easy. It was incorporated into our homework actually. Remember how you had to read for 15-20 minutes every day outside of school? I read like crazy during those years! Anything I could get my hands on! But when high school came around, I was like, “Nope, Sakina you’re not reading anymore. You got to focus on school and your grades.” I literally remember saying those exact words to myself.

University wasn’t any better. I didn’t read for the first year and a half. But then things started going downhill in terms of grades, what I wanted to do with the rest of my life (I still don’t know lol), and other personal stuff. I started MAKING TIME for reading (key word: “making time”). Cause it helped with the stress and the constant worry. It took my mind off of stuff, even if it was only for 10 minutes.

I’m pretty certain that for most of us, our stress levels have gone through the roof since Donald Trump was elected. Reading might help some of you to escape this crazy world we live in and immerse yourself in another. (I’m not saying we should forget what is going on in our world, but sometimes it’s good to give ourselves a mental break).

So here are 5 tips on how to read more while in school!

1 – READ WHILE ON THE BUS/TRAIN/CAR

people-train-public-transportation-hurry

This is probably where I get most of my reading done. I think, generally, the majority of students spent at least an hour per day getting to and from school (I haven’t checked this made up statistic). Especially if you’re taking public transportation.

Note: This doesn’t really apply to those of you who walk to school – even though walking and reading is totally possible – since you could die. So don’t do it.

I tend to read on my phone just because it’s easier, but you can definitely use that time to listen to an audiobook or read from a physical book too!

2 – READ IN BETWEEN CLASS

woman-notebook-working-girl.jpg

I’m the kind of person who is always early to class. Usually I have at least 10-15 minutes before the professor actually starts the lesson, so if I have a book on me, I’ll pull it out and get in a few pages. I know 10 minutes doesn’t sound like a lot, but it’s a great way to calm yourself down mid-way through a busy day. Just make sure that when the class actually starts you’re focused on the lesson and not daydreaming about Rhys 😏

3 – READ WHILE YOU EAT

coffee-flower-reading-magazine.jpg

Now usually I am against this because I need to keep my books pristine and clean, but if you’re careful, then this is another way to get in some reading. I actually do my assigned reading while drinking some hot chocolate or french vanilla from Tim Hortons 🙂

4 – DO YOUR HOMEWORK IN ADVANCE!

I used to do this all the time in high school. I would spend most or part of my lunch in the library just doing all my math or chemistry homework. However…I think it’s important to be social and make friends, so don’t do this all the time – unless your friends are into it too – but if you realize you have too much work one day, get some of it done during lunch. That way, when you get home, you can cuddle up with a good book and get some reading time in. Also, you could watch a couple episodes of whatever tv show you’re into, so it’s a win win situation!

5 – USE READING AS A STUDY INCENTIVE

hand-vintage-old-book.jpg

This is a somewhat dangerous tip because if you don’t have self control, then you’ll end up just reading instead of actually studying 😂 But it does work! Just this week, I finished studying one section for my environmental chemistry midterm, and then I went upstairs and read a few pages. I think the trick with this is to put your book in a different room, instead of leaving it right beside your study area. That way you’re not as tempted to pick up the book midway through studying! Also, make sure you limit how much you’re reading – one chapter (if it’s long), or 2-3 if they’re shorter!

Hope some of these tips helped! How do you find time to read? – comment down below!

–Sakina

7 thoughts on “Five Tips On How To Read More While In School!

  1. This was really helpful! Since starting high school, my reading life has become pretty munch non-existent WHICH SUCKS, and I need to find a way to push it back into my schedule. And yeah, since this election, reading has been such a great outlet to escape, if only for an hour or so! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are really good tips! My coursemates are always asking me how I manage to read so much, and whilst it is a case of me making time to read (before bed, waking up early to make sure I can fit some in) it’s also a case of snatching whatever time I can and using it. I listen to audiobooks when I walk to campus and I always give myself 5 minute breaks after 25 minutes work so that I can read a few pages 🙂

    Such a great post, Sakina!

    Zoe @ Readabilitea

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

