Bookish Things

Life Update: Where I Ask Myself Questions You Probably Want The Answers To

Wow. It’s been a while. I don’t think I’ve ever taken such a long break. But I’m back from this unplanned hiatus and I’m looking forward to being more active on here!

Where have I been?

Good question. School, work, midterms, assignments, life. That’s pretty much what has been happening these past few weeks. I’m done my first round of midterms – and yeah, I said first round πŸ™ˆπŸ˜© – and I have Fall Break coming up this week. Then more midterms. And then I have an essay and an assignment and finals. So, yeah. Not sure if I’ll be that active, but I’m going to try πŸ™‚

Where’s this ACOMAF review I’ve been waiting for?

So this is what happened. I finished ACOMAF beginning of September and was really, really disappointed. It’s my lowest rated book so far this year and I honestly feel sort of bad for not liking such a popular book, but at the same time I’m glad I have something different to say.

The problem was that ACOMAF left me so “mad” (I wasn’t so angry that I wanted to chuck it across my room or anything, but just so disappointed) that I didn’t know how I was going to summarize all my thoughts and feelings into a concise review. So I didn’t write one. But I’ve been thinking about this book for the past couple months, and just a few days ago I came up with this really cool idea that might work. It’s not really a “review” – it’s more me going chapter-by-chapter and commentating on what happened or making up little scenarios of what the characters should be saying (not sure if that makes sense). You’ll see I guess.

IMG_4411.JPG

Goal is to get it up before the end of the year – LOL I know that’s pathetic. But school comes first. And since it’s been a while since I’ve read ACOMAF, I’m going to have to go through all of it again. Definitely not looking forward to that.

What have you been reading?

Reading? hahaha what’s reading? And what are books?

I’m joking. I have been reading, just at a lot slower rate than usual. With midterms coming up every week, I just haven’t had as much time.

So…here are the books I’ve finished in the past couple months:

17927395
A COURT OF MIST AND FURY
By: Sarah J. Maas
Rating: 2.75/5 ⭐️’s

Review to come. Hopefully…

 

 

 

 

3473
A WALK TO REMEMBER
By: Nicholas Sparks
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Wow look Sakina read a contemporary romance book???! Yes, I did. (Also, I’m not sure if this would be considered contemporary, but I don’t know my non-fantasy and sci-fi genres that well, so just go with it) I don’t know what happened, but one day I woke up and remembered watching this movie in my grade 9 religion class. You know that scene, when Jamie sings during the play? Yeah, well it broke my heart thinking about it and I thought: WHY NOT READ THE BOOK TO REMEMBER THE FEELS?!? Such a good idea, Sakina. So I read it and got all sad, but at the same time I really enjoyed this book. It’s so different from Nicholas Spark’s other books – since it focuses so much on faith and God. But I actually really enjoyed it and felt like I could take some important messages from this book – which is always a good thing!

7114729.jpg
TERRIER (Beka Cooper Trilogy #1)
By: Tamora Pierce
Rating: 4.25/5 ⭐️’s

Review: Check out my horrible just-finished-reading-mess-of-a-review on Goodreads!

As you guys probably know, I’m in the process of completing the READ TAMORA PIERCE 2016 CHALLENGE. Well, I’m finally onto her Tortall books and I thought I’d start with her Beka Cooper series, since I was still waiting for Song of the Lioness and the Immortals series to get to my house. I haven’t read this trilogy before, so I was excited to read something “new”. All I can say is, this series is even better than I expected. When I went into it, I was a little hesitant just because the slang took a while to get used to, but OMG IT’S SO GOOD! It has the action, adventure, mystery, and magic you’d want in a fantasy. Combine that with beautifulΒ friendships, a little bit of romance (ROSTO THE PIPER ANYONE???), and DIVERSITY. Yup, diversity. There’s been a lot of arguing and debating going on on Twitter and literally my response to everyone is: READ TAMORA PIERCE. So go do it. Like now. You won’t regret it.

12918
AENEID
By: Virgil
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Not much to say about this. Read it for school. I definitely enjoyed it, but the ending was a let down.

 

 

 

153779.jpg
BLOODHOUND (Beka Cooper Trilogy #2)
By: Tamora Pierce
Rating: 4.5/5

I just finished reading this last night, so go check out my min-review on Goodreads!

Highly recommend if you like diversity, fantasy, a love interest that will melt your cold heart, and a cute dog named Achoo!

 

What are you currently reading?

Since I’m too lazy to write it all down, I’m just going to screenshot my Goodreads page.

screen-shot-2016-10-23-at-2-07-07-pm
Metamorphoses is for school. I actually just started reading this before I decided to write this blogpost. Apparently the main theme is rape…

I haven’t start this yet, but I’m planning to tonight. Goal is to finish it before the end of October, so it looks like I’ve actually been reading πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ Also, I’m behind on the TPRC and I need to catch up!

I started reading this on the bus to and from school. Mostly because I was bored and the bus was taking forever. But it’s really good so far and I’m learning a lot of things that I didn’t know before. It’s a long book though, so not sure if I’ll finish it anytime soon.

 
What are you currently watching?

Nothing. I did start Gilmore Girls a while back, but I haven’t watched anything for weeks. Mostly because of exams.

I have added a couple new shows to my never-ending list:

Victoria (thank you to Vee!)

VictoriaITVPix7.jpg

(Just the costumes make me want to watch this show so bad 😍😍😍)

The Man in the High Castle (thank you to Anna!)

51117B9VzxL._SX940_.jpg

If the Nazis won WWII what would life be like now? tbh this show sounds like our future if Donald Trump wins the election πŸ™ŠπŸ˜¨

Okay, I think that’s going to be it for now. I’m going to start working on this ACOMAF review soon, but I’m getting my wisdom teeth out this week, so we’ll see how that goes.

Hope you’re all having a relaxing Sunday! (Don’t forget to comment below and tell me what you’ve all been up to!)

9 thoughts on “Life Update: Where I Ask Myself Questions You Probably Want The Answers To

  1. I’m STILL watching Gilmore Girls and on the sixth season now.
    I know how you feel. I just got free from all the work and assignment and it feels so gooood! Wow. You’re reading multiple books. I hope you enjoy all of them.
    Bummer you didn’t enjoy ACOMAF much!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait for you to watch The Man in the High Castle, I loved it so much, the wait for season two is sooo hard 😦
    I will tell you everything that happens in ACOMAF – Rhys is lovely Rhys is lovely Rhys is lovely Tamlin is an idiot Lucien is an idiot but still lovely. Everyone falls in love. The end πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m definitely watching it during the winter break!!

      Hahaha if only I could write that as my review πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Lucien is still lovely though. I can agree on that!

      Like

Leave a Reply!

