Bookish Things

August Wrap-Up & September Plans!

August has been an interesting month. I only read 2 books, but I did reach 300 followers on Twitter and 500 on Instagram!!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ I also got my very first job(s) and I started working! Unfortunately, summer is coming to an end, which means school and stress. YAAY! (I’m being sarcastic)


BLOG POSTS FROM THIS MONTH!

I’ve had quite a few interesting posts on my blog this month (at least, I think so):

July Wrap-Up and Book Haul!

August TBR!

A Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasΒ <<< I’m really proud of this one, so check it out!

Life Update: University, Work…

If You Like Percy Jackson…

Top 6 Book Construction Pet Peeves!

T5W #4: Books/Series I Want to Read By The End Of The Year

Not bad for a pretty crazy month! Also, my ACOTAR review took ages to write.


AUGUST WRAP-UP

So, just like last month, I only read 2 books πŸ™ˆ I enjoyed both, but for some reason I haven’t been in a reading mood since πŸ˜•

THE BATTLE OF THE LABYRINTH (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #4)
By: Rick Riordan
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Ahhh I really, really loved this book! It was action-packed, with a lot of twists and turns – pun definitely intended! I loved seeing more of Rachel especially. I’m not a 100% sold on shipping Percy and Annabeth – I know, I know, you all hate me…but I really liked Rachel and Percy together. I feel like Percy and Annabeth are constantly arguing and I kind of found it annoying how Annabeth would get so jealous of Percy for hanging out with Rachel.

THE LAST OLYMPIAN (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5)Β 
By:Β Rick Riordan
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

THIS BOOK WAS EPIC! SOOO MANY BATTLE SCENES! I was on the edge of my seat the whole book!Β Learning more about Luke’s backstory was so interesting! Also, we finally got the whole prophecy! There was a reference to Achilles, which made my inner mythology-nerd so happy! And the final scene was heartbreaking, but beautifully done!


MY VERY SMALL AUGUSTΒ BOOK HAUL

I bought only three books this month – two being textbooks. I’m waiting to be paid from work, and waiting for my student loans to come in so I can pay for tuition. Once that’s done, I think I might treat myself at the end of the month. Maybe…I have waaay too many unread books on my shelf – 17 to be exact.

23395680
ILLUMINAE
By: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I’ve been seeing this everywhere and I couldn’t wait any longer before buying it! I haven’t read a lot of science-fiction this year, so I’m really excited for this!

 

 

 


THE AENIED
By: Virgil

METAMORPHOSES By: Ovid

I’m really excited to get to these two for my Latin Epic class!Β I’ve read sections from both of these before, but I’m looking forward to reading the whole thing and analyzing it this year!

TENTATIVE SEPTEMBER TBR

If you’ve been following me on Twitter or Instagram (@aforestofbooks for both), you’ll know that I’ve been reading ACOMAF for about 2 weeks now. I’m just not feeling it for some reason. There are a few things that have been annoying me – for example, how Tamlin’s character has been completely changedΒ compared to ACOTAR, which just seems like a convenient way for people to start rooting for Rhysand. I still can’t forget about what Rhysand did to Feyre in ACOTAR, so that isn’t really helping things. I do love the side characters though! Mor, Cassian, Azriel, and Amren are all so interesting! I want to know more about them!

Anyway, my goal for September is to finish ACOMAF. Which should hopefully happen. But with work, O-Week, and school, I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to dedicate to reading.

IMG_3618

Besides that, I’m either planning to start The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo OR maybe pick up The Song of the LionessΒ series by Tamora Pierce. Whichever I’m in the mood for. I did want to read Six of Crows as well this month, but I honestly don’t think I’ll have the time.


Speaking of time…

SEPTEMBER PLANS

University is starting next Thursday – why they would start on a Thursday, I don’t know. But it’s a thing that happens in Canada. I also have a very crazy work schedule. I’m working almost everyday next week, so that’s going to be pretty hectic πŸ™ˆ. On top of that, I have a billion tests, midterms, and assignments due in October, so I need to be on top of my work in order to not fail.

I’m going to have my first midterm for Microbiology at the end of September – END OF SEPTEMBER – KILL ME NOW PLEASE πŸ™ˆ My second midterm for the same course near the end of October (probably). I have a Chemistry test and a Geography test in October. A Geography project due as well. And a Latin Epic midterm and an essay. SO YEAH, GUESS WHOSE GOING TO BE STRESSED FOR THE REST OF THE YEAR?!?

Oh and I haven’t even told you about November yet 😣

What does that mean for this blog? Unfortunately, it’s not going to be my highest priority. I still want to be active on Twitter and Instagram, but blogging takes a lot more time for me, so I won’t be posting that frequently. Maybe once a week, if I get a chance.Β I know you all understand because you’re all lovely human beings, so thank you for being patient with me πŸ™‚

What did you read this month? Are you excited for Crooked Kingdom? I’m excited and I haven’t even read Six of Crows yet! One a scale of -100 to 0, how excited are you about going back to school?

–Sakina

 

5 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up & September Plans!

  1. I feel you πŸ˜€ Uni hasn’t started again for me yet, but I totally understand where you’re coming from. Good luck for all your exams etc. for the semester πŸ™‚ Oh and congratulations on the first job – that’s awesome! :))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

