Bookish Things

Top 6 Book Construction Pet Peeves!

I randomly came up with this topic while on the bus ride home from work. If you’re like me, you’re probably picky when it comes to buying books. Personally, I need all my books to be in perfect condition – no dents, folded pages, rips, broken spines etc. That’s one of the reasons why I don’t buy a lot of used books. I like my books new, shiny, and barely used/read.

While I can control the condition my books are in, there are some things that I can’t control, like book construction. Here are my Top 6 Book Construction Pet Peeves!

 
1. When books in the same series aren’t the same size.

a) This should be illegal!
b) There should be a law that all book publishers have to follow a strict guideline on book sizes.

I bought the Beka Cooper trilogy by Tamora Pierce last month and the books aren’t even the same size. Luckily it’s not that noticeable, but still. I wish I had a picture to show you, but here’s one I found of the Heroes of Olympus series:

img_3792.jpg

I have this sudden urge to claw my eyes out. jk but seriously, whyyyy???

 

2. Mid-series cover change.

Three words. The Bone Season. Now I haven’t read the series, but it’s been pretty much everywhere – on Twitter, Bookstagram, Snapchat…Even though I haven’t read the books, the fact that the publisher decided to change the covers mid-way through the series is just so annoying. Now I know there’s a special edition that’s going to be released that has the original cover, but it’s only available in hardcover (I’m pretty sure), so everyone who has the paperbacks are now screwed.

If you’re like me and you absolutely have to have all the books in a series match, otherwise you’ll go crazy, then it kind of sucks.

The same thing happened with The Winner’s Curse trilogy, but the publisher promised that the final book would be available in the original cover design.

Series-reveal-US.png
At least the spines match the old covers

3. THIS:

IMG_1976.JPG
And no, I’m not talking about the mini cupcakes, even though I really want some now 😋😍…The cover for Me Before You is beautiful! But if you look closely, you can see that the front cover is a little shorter than the book itself. uggghhhhh why is this a thing???!! What happened to normal book covers?

 

4. Non-floppy paperbacks.

I pretty much stay away from buying UK paperbacks because of this. Even though a lot of books have better UK covers, I just can’t stand stiff books. Especially since I hate breaking the spine. There are US paperbacks that aren’t floppy, and I find myself barely being able to open them because of the fear that I’ll ruin the spine. This is one of the reasons why I prefer hardcovers too!

 

5. When the publisher stops publishing the hardcover copies of a series.

This one is kind of specific. That’s because I’m particularly talking about the Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima. It’s not available in hardcover anymore. And guess who has yet to finish reading the series and really wants to but can’t because it’s not in hardcover 😫😞 ME. It’s not available on Amazon (Canada), Indigo, Book Depository, and Book Outlet. I did (just now) find it on Amazon (US), but shipping is expensive and Canada is a wonderful country, so why doesn’t the publisher send us some beautiful hardcover copies?

I think I might just buy them from Amazon.com anyway. But it would be so much easier if I could just walk down to my local Indigo and buy them there. These books aren’t even super old. I mean Cinda Williams Chima just came out with Flamecaster, which takes place after the Seven Realms series…

Seven Realms Books.jpg
Aren’t they just beautiful 😍😍😍

 

6. Too many beautiful editions.

This isn’t exactly a pet peeve, but I’m adding this in here anyway. Most of you people reading this blog are probably book fiends like myself. And as book fiends, we’re constantly running out of money since we spend most of it on books. But then, all of a sudden, a book comes out in multiple editions. For example, Uprooted by Naomi Novik. Look at all these pretty covers!


Now I just need to have all 3, right? But I can’t possibly afford that. (Plus, I’m pretty sure the third one is only available in UK paperback, which means it’s not floppy). In a perfect world, I would buy all three though and proudly display them on my bookshelf! But it would be nice if publishers only took out one edition. It would save us so much time (shipping) and money!

What are your book construction pet peeves? Tell me in the comments!

–Sakina

12 thoughts on “Top 6 Book Construction Pet Peeves!

  1. OMG this is so true- numbers 1 and 2 speak to me on a personal level. Uneven books in a series are such a heartbreaker. And the cover change happened to me during The House of Night series. There are 12 books and there have been around 2 cover redesigns, and for some reason half way through the series they stopped selling paperbacks for a while in my area. So I have 9 books with a black design, one orange and one blue (I still have bought the 12th book yet), with about 4 books halfway through the series being in hardback. It’s such a mismatch and it is just so sad. 😦

    Thank you for doing this post ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg that’s terrible! Why would they do that, especially twice?? It’s honestly my worst nightmare and kind of why I like to wait till all the books are out before buying them

      Like

  2. Ooh great post! This was really interesting 🙂 As I live in the UK I didn’t realise you could even get books that were floppy until someone sent me a book from Canada! Also here in the UK for trilogies they stop publishing the hardcover before the 3rd book is even out! (We are the worst)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why would they do that? That’s terrible! I do like reading from floppy paperbacks though. It’s just so satisfying when you open a book and it’s all like “yes, read me” and not like “No, don’t open me all the way” 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know it’s so annoying! Like Half a King etc are completely gone now! It’s so weird that the UK does all that binding, I think it’s called perfect binding because they all get glued shut kinda? I’m making no sense okay bye haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

