Bookish Things

If You Like Percy Jackson…

HAPPY BIRTHDAY PERCY!!! It seems so ironic that I finished the PJO series the day before Percy’s birthday! If I’ve calculated right, he should be turning 23 today!

I thought that the best way to honour Percy’s birthday would be to talk about some books/series that you guys might enjoy if you’ve read PJO!

tumblr_m5dj2qKl7i1rvvtzxo1_1280.png

THE SECRETS OF THE IMMORTAL NICHOLAS FLAMEL By: Michael Scott

Now I’ve probably mentioned this series a billion times, but you all seriously need to read them!

Here’s the little synopsis for book #1:

Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on 28 September 1330. Nearly seven hundred years later, he is acknowledged as the greatest Alchemyst of his day. It is said that he discovered the secret of eternal life. The records show that he died in 1418. But his tomb is empty and Nicholas Flamel lives. The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects – the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. And that’s exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won’t know what’s happening until it’s too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it. Sometimes legends are true. And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.

What I love about this series is that Michael Scott combines myths and history from all over the world! The different mythological creatures and people that pop up in this series are probably ones you will recognized from the PJ books or you may have heard of them if you’ve ever seen Thor or dabbled in some Ancient Egypt history. Also, the historical characters that show up are ones you’ve probably studied in school or at least have heard of in passing!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Highly Recommend!

1-children-the-lamp.jpg

CHILDREN OF THE LAMP By: P.B. Kerr

(The book above is the first book in a 7 book long series)

Another middle-grade series that I read a while back and absolutely loved! Here’s the short synopsis for the first book:

Meet John and Philippa Gaunt, twelve-year-old twins who one day discover themselves to be descended from a long line of djinn. All of a sudden, they have the power to grant wishes, travel to extraordinary places, and make people and objects disappear. Luckily, the twins are introduced to their eccentric djinn-uncle Nimrod, who will teach them how to harness their newly found power. And not a moment too soon . . . since John and Philippa are about to embark on a search to locate a monstrous pharaoh named Akhenaten and his eerie tomb.

I love this series so much! First of all, its about djinns! Second of all, the books also delve into middle eastern history, folklore, and mythology. And third of all, I love all the diversity! The food, cultures, religions, and people!

Another ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ !!!

Lokis-Wolves.jpg

THE BLACKWELL PAGES By: K.L. Armstrong & M.A. Marr

Now I’m kind of cheating here since I haven’t read this trilogy, but from what I’ve heard it’s perfect for the fans of Percy Jackson! And you get to learn about Norse mythology too! Now I know Rick Riordan has his Magnus Chase series, but not all the books are out yet, so if you’re looking for something to pass the time with, I would definitely check out this series!

Here’s the synposis:

In Viking times, Norse myths predicted the end of the world, an event called Ragnarok, that only the gods can stop. When this apocalypse happens, the gods must battle the monsters–wolves the size of the sun, serpents that span the seabeds, all bent on destroying the world.

The gods died a long time ago.

Matt Thorsen knows every Norse myth, saga, and god as if it was family history–because it is family history. Most people in the modern-day town of Blackwell, South Dakota, in fact, are direct descendants of either Thor or Loki, including Matt’s classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke.

However, knowing the legends and completely believing them are two different things. When the rune readers reveal that Ragnarok is coming and kids–led by Matt–will stand in for the gods in the final battle, he can hardly believe it. Matt, Laurie, and Fen’s lives will never be the same as they race to put together an unstoppable team to prevent the end of the world.

This series is on my TBR, so hopefully I’ll get to it soon!

The_Bad_Beginning

A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS By: Lemony Snicket

Now I know this series isn’t exactly similar to PJO, but it is about three kids and their adventures and misfortunes. And if you’ve read PJO, you’ll know that it’s not exactly smooth sailing for Percy, Annabeth, Tyson and Grover all the time.

It’s been a while since I’ve read this entire series, but I’m hoping to pick them up soon to prepare myself for the Netflix show!

harry-potter-series.jpg

And last, but not least…

HARRY POTTER By: J.K. Rowling

I don’t think I could have written this post without mentioning this series! I know there are a lot of people out there who haven’t read the books yet, so if you’ve read PJ, and you want a series with mystery, adventure, magic, and friendship, definitely pick up these books!

What other books would you recommend to people who’ve read and loved Percy Jackson? Have you read any of the series I’ve mentioned? What did you think?

–Sakina

 

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “If You Like Percy Jackson…

Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s