Memories

Life Update: University, Work…

I haven’t done one of these for a while! But a lot has a happened and I thought I would give an update.

I FINALLY GOT A JOB! MY FIRST JOB! AND…it’s at a BOOKSTORE!

I still can’t believe it, to be honest. I wasn’t expecting it at all! I thought the interview went okay, but I wasn’t sure if my references were any good. I did mention my blog during the interview, which I think was a big factor, but I was still in shock when I got the email!

I start on Thursday, which is actually training. I’m really nervous because I don’t know what to expect and I’m afraid to mess up or something, but hopefully it goes well!

The position is only for a month, so till the end of September, but I’m excited to help all the students find their textbooks and hopefully get them to sneak in some YA into their carts. Oh! I forgot to mention that it’s the bookstore on campus! Which is even better because I’ve spent hours there looking at textbooks for other courses because I’m weird like that. I know my way around pretty well and it’s nice that I don’t have to travel far for work!

So that’s the one job. Guess who got hired for another position a couple of days later?! Yeah, ME! I can’tΒ fully comprehend what is going on right now, but I ended up getting a position I applied for in July. I had the interview a couple of weeks ago, found out at the end of the week that I got the bookstore position, and then the following Monday, I found out I got this other job!

What is this mysterious job? I’m going to be a residence clerk! On campus, again, which is really, really convenient! And this one is till May of next year! I’m not a 100% sure what I’ll have to do, but I’m assuming I’ll be at the front desk, taking calls, helping with move-in day, signing in people, etc. I have training for this job this weekend – 9am to 5pm both days!

Now I know what you’re thinking, because I’ve been thinking about this since I accepted both offers: “Sakina? How are you going to balance two jobs and school?” Good question. I have no idea. I’m just hoping that everything works out and I’m not too overwhelmed with everything. The bookstore position is only till the end of September, so I’ll be fine for the rest of the year. I just have to get through September πŸ˜…πŸ˜³ I guess, if I look on the positive side, I’m going to learn how to manage my time more efficiently, and hopefully I’ll be able to kick procrastination out the door!

Speaking of school, I thought I would show you guys my timetable! This is more for myself – just for memory sake – but still:

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 1.13.20 PM.png

MICRO-IMMUNOLOGYΒ 2500A – I’m kind of excited to take this course, but at the same time I’m nervous because for some reason I don’t do as well on my science courses as my history courses

ENVIRONMENTAL CHEMISTRY 2210A – I can’t wait to take this course! We have a great prof this year and I feel like this course will be so applicable to the real world!

SPACE EXPLORATION (GEOGRAPHY) 2090A – If I was better at math, I would have studied physics and astronomy. So this is the closest I’ll get to taking a course about space! Plus, there’s no final exam, so I’m only going to have 3 finals this semester!

LATIN EPIC (CLASSICS) 3150F – My only classics and essay course this semester. I’m really excited to analyze The Aeneid and Metamorphoses. This class is technically an English class, but for classics and I think I’m really going to enjoy it! There was a class like this offered last year on Greek epics, but I didn’t get a chance to take it unfortunately 😦

I also have another course I’m currently registered in, but I’m dropping it since I don’t need it to graduate. Just wait till next semester though! It’s going to be a combination of drugs, Roman conquests, Alexander the Great, pirates and mass pandemics!

Have you started school yet? What courses are you taking this year? (I’m actually really interested, so please tell me!) What was your first job? Did you enjoy it?Β 

–Sakina πŸ™‚

 

8 thoughts on “Life Update: University, Work…

  1. Congratulations on getting those two jobs, Sakina! And the first one at a bookstore too – that’ll be really, really amazing. All the best. ❀

    Your schedule looks jam-packed to me! But I’m the kind of person who, when I was in uni, basically shoved all of my classes on one day so I could have at least one or two days off. I also prefer late classes because I am horrible (HORRIBLE) at waking up early.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I wish I could put all my classes into two days, but I kind of like it being spread out. If I have a day off, I end up sleeping in and getting nothing done lol πŸ˜‚ I prefer morning classes because it forces me to wake up early

      Like

Leave a Reply!

