Bookish Things

Top 5 Wednesday #3: Top 5 Finished Series On My Wishlist

This bookish meme is hosted by Lainey and Mindy on Goodreads.

I’m terrible at buying books. BUT, I have quite a few books that I’ve been eyeing recently. If only I could force myself to do it. Instead of talking about my Most Recent Additions to My Wishlist, I thought  I would mention my Top 5 Finished Series that I really, really want to buy!

15839976
RED RISING TRILOGY

By: Pierce Brown
Synopsis:
Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.

I honestly have no good reason to not buy this. I mean it’s a completed series, EVERYONE AND THEIR MOTHER raves about it, and Pierce Brown’s eyes are a very good indication of how deep I’m going to fall for these books.

18081228
ORPHAN QUEEN DUOLOGY
By: Jodi Meadows
Synopsis:
Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others.

I think I might actually buy this. I mean, its currently sitting in my Indigo cart. It’s only two books and I’ve heard really good things about this duology.

17675462.jpg
THE RAVEN CYCLE
By: Maggie Stiefvater
Synopsis:
Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

I feel like I’m missing out on something big here.

16069030.jpg
THE WINNER’S TRILOGY
By: Marie Rutkoski
Synopsis:
As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. 

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. 

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined. 

UGGGHH! This trilogy has the most beautiful covers and I just want them so bad! Now I’m seriously considering buying this next instead of the Orphan Queen duology 🙈

10790290.jpg
THE RIYRIA REVELATIONS
By: Michael J. Sullivan
Synopsis:
There’s no ancient evil to defeat or orphan destined for greatness, just unlikely heroes and classic adventure. Royce Melborn, a skilled thief, and his mercenary partner, Hadrian Blackwater, are two enterprising rogues who end up running for their lives when they’re framed for the murder of the king. Trapped in a conspiracy that goes beyond the overthrow of a tiny kingdom, their only hope is unraveling an ancient mystery before it’s too late.

Hahaha don’t mind me while I flail around like a dying fish 🐟 This high fantasy series just sounds like the next best thing since chocolate cake, which I’m actually kind of craving right now. It has literally everything I would want in a series! I personally love reading books with male MCs. I feel like there are a ton of books with female MCs, but not as many male. It’s nice switching things up a bit now and then.

Which of these 5 series should I buy next? Peer pressure is accepted and encouraged!

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #3: Top 5 Finished Series On My Wishlist

  1. OMG I THINK YOU NEED THE RAVEN CYCLE LIKE IMMEDIATELY. *flails for possibly 90000 years* JUST SAYIN’ BUT IT IS THE BEST SERIES THE WORLD HAS EVER KNOWN. Also Red Rising is just downright epic. Darrow….afjdkslafdj And I’m laughing about your comment on the author’s eyes. YES. You will fall very hard for Red Rising.😍 Also The Winner’s Curse series is AMAZING. I highly recommend that too!! So basically your wishlist is awesome.😂
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I worry about that too. What if I end up hating the series??? That’s kind of why I like to wait a bit and see the later reviews. I’ve bought 10 books in the past week lol 😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

