Bookish Things

June Wrap-up: Books, TV Shows, Movies, Haul!

Yes, I know I’m a little late, and I’m sorry, but I’ve been in a really bad blogging slump. I’m finally kind of getting out of it, so I thought I would start off with something relatively easy. Hope you enjoy!

BLOG POSTS FROM THIS MONTH:

This month wasn’t a great blogging month unfortunately. The first two weeks went well, but then after that I just got kind of lazy, lethargic, unmotivated, etc. etc. Hopefully I’ll do better in July. I’m trying to make the most of my summer because I know once school starts in September, I’ll be so busy that I probably won’t post more than 3-4 times a month πŸ™ˆ

Here are the posts I wrote this month:

June TBR and Life Update!

The Guide Blog Tour – Short Excerpt and Guest Post by Author!

Top 5 Wednesday #2: Favourite Character Names – Fantasy Edition

Currently Reading, Currently Watching

Teaser Tuesday #2: 1984 by George Orwell

Rapid Fire Book Tag

LOL πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I guess it wasn’t exactly a terrible month πŸ™‚

MAYΒ WRAP-UP

This month I read a total of 4 books. I’m currently still reading the Quran, though my mom might end up finishing it for me since I’m just in an overall life slump πŸ’πŸ»

28259776
THE GUIDE
By: Justin Chandler
Rating: ⭐️⭐️

I joined a blog tour this month hosted by Jennifer (Happy Lil Book Nook) and we read this book! Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. The premise definitely sounded interesting and promising, but certain aspects of the plot and characters was confusing or annoying. I took a screenshot of my Goodreads reading updates, so you can kind of get an idea.

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 6.26.59 PM

After reading The Guide, I finally decided to start reading Percy Jackson! It was my first time reading the books (having already seen the movies) and I was nervous, excited, and fangirling over all theΒ Greek mythology! That’s my inner Classics minor coming out πŸ™‚

IMG_2766
THE LIGHTNING THIEF (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1)
By
: Rick Riordan
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I buddy-read this with Allison (A Traveling Book)

I have a mini-review up on GoodreadsΒ πŸ™‚

 

 

IMG_2795
THE SEA OF MONSTERS (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2)
By: Rick Riordan
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really, really enjoyed this book! It honestly felt like as the reader, I was following Odysseus on his journey home πŸ™‚ I also just love how hilarious Rick Riordan’s characters are! I was literally laughing out loud at some of the things Percy or Grover said. The ending was definitely a shocker for me! I knew something was up, but I wasn’t expecting THAT to happen!

Oops, I almost forgot to talk about one last book πŸ™Š

IMG_2755


1984
By:
George Orwell
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really enjoyed reading Animal Farm a few years back, so I finally decided to pick up this book! This was a beautifully written story, the world building was interesting and creepy, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the characters and the ending was seriously a letdown. I was expecting more and I didn’t get that, which I guess is the point of the story. Animal Far is definitely still my favourite!


WHAT I
WATCHED!

So I may have binge-watched a couple tv shows this month! I started off with Jessica Jones – ever since it was released in December, I haven’t heard anything but praise. And WOW was it chillingly good! I’m also now obsessed with David Tennent, even though he freaks me out a little, but man he’s an amazing actor! Definitely a 4.5/5 ⭐️’s

maxresdefault

Afterwards, I watched Daredevil S2. I really missed Matt and Foggy, so I was excited to get back into this show. S2 didn’t live up to S1 for me though. There was a lot more drama in S2 – what with Matt and Foggy’s relationship strains, a old-flame reappearing (who I actually found to be really annoying), and Matt’s unnecessary secrecy. It kind of reminded me of S2 of Arrow. I did like Karen’s side of the story, though she did do some things that just made me want to bang my head against the wall. Frank Castle gave me nightmares, which wasn’t great, but I’m still recovering after watching him in The Walking Dead. Overall, I’d give it a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️, though it’s probably more close to a 3.75.

Daredevil-12

As you can see, I’ve kind of become obsessed with the Marvel Universe. So I googled how you’re supposed to watch all the movies/tv shows in order and decided to start from the top. Yup, I know I’m crazy! I watched Captain America: The First Avenger earlier in the month and thought it was a good start. It definitely felt cliched and cheesy at times, but it was cute and action-packed, and interesting too! Also Bucky is just adorable – I now understand why people are obsessed with Sebastian Stan!

Right afterwards, I decided to give Agent Carter another try. I watched the first episode last year, but didn’t really enjoy it that much.Β I was probably delusional, because OMG PLEASE GO AND WATCH IT! Now I can see why people were so mad when the show was cancelled. Peggy is an amazing role model for girls/women! I love how she’s strong, confident, willing to take matters into her own hands…she’s ignored and treated terribly by most of her male coworkers, but she doesn’t let that bring her down! UGGHH IT’S JUST SO GOOD! Also Daniel Susa anybody???!! And Tristan from Gilmore Girls is in this, which I didn’t realize till I was almost done S1 – but he did look familiar. Also, Mr. Jarvis is just so cute I just want to pinch his cheeks! His accent and the way he talks kills me every time!


WHAT I RECIEVED

Okay, enough of me talking about Marvel and superheroes. Let’s talk about what I received this month! I won a giveaway hosted by ChaptersIndigo and got A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas!!! These books have been staring at me since I got them. I’ve picked up ACOTAR multiple times just to hold it in my hands and flip through the pages πŸ˜³πŸ™ˆ – obviously without reading the words, because I don’t want to spoil myself!

 


Okay, that was a long one! My July TBR will hopefully be up sometime this week.

– Sakina

12 thoughts on “June Wrap-up: Books, TV Shows, Movies, Haul!

Leave a Reply!

