Bookish Things

Top 5 Wednesday #2: Favourite Character Names – Fantasy Edition

This bookish meme is hosted by Lainey and Mindy on Goodreads.

If you’re like me, you’re probably obsessed with character names! Especially if they’re unique, weird, or just plain cool! When I used to write, I remember spending hours googling names for my characters. Since I’m clearly obsessed with fantasy, I thought I would pick 5 character names from my favourite fantasy books!

BRIAR MOSS from THE CIRCLE UNIVERSE BOOKS by Tamora Pierce

9f782ac152e42be88c7cd6713b62d6be
Link

Before I read Tamora Pierce’s Circle Universe books, I always associated Briar with Briar Rose, aka Princess Aurora from Sleeping Beauty. But not anymore! Briar looks like he’s giving someone the evil eye, which he does occasionally, but usually he’s really nice. He’s also beautiful, charming, funny, and so protective of the people he loves.


NYMPHADORA TONKS
 from HARRY POTTER

fef67a0c8a8be46d3bd33f8b9fbc9b56.jpg
Link

Or Dora, which is just as sweet and heart-wrenching! Do I need to say more?


ARAGORN
from LORD OF THE RINGS

98aed95616f509a41fc5cedba3ce0a89
Link

I still need to finish reading this series, but Aragorn is definitely my favourite character from both the books and movies!


VERALIDAINE/DAINE
from THE IMMORTALS by Tamora Pierce

a137732abdd49046a537c59ab0f2c924.jpg
Link

I’ve only read this series once! ONCE! I’m hoping to get to it before the end of the year. Daine’s name is just so beautiful and different from anything I’ve ever heard! Also the romance in this series is just perfect!

MERIK (or pretty much anyone) from TRUTHWITCH

aedc2be1973c240c70b6ea79df7949cd.jpg

*swoons, flails, dies* Literally should be the tag line for this series 😂

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #2: Favourite Character Names – Fantasy Edition

Leave a Reply!

