Bookish Things

June TBR and Life Update!

I can’t believe it’s already June! A month from now I’ll be 21??!! Like how did that happen so quickly? We’re about half-way through the year, I’m more than half-way through my Goodreads Reading Challenge, and it literally feels like I just started this blog!

Before I get into my TBR for this month, I thought I would give a quick update on what’s happening in June.

June 7th is most likely the first day of the Islamic month of Ramadan, which is our fasting month. Every year, this month, I turn nocturnal. Like I’m not joking. I stay up all night, and sleep during the day. But I’m not going to say too much about that because I’m planning to write a blogpost about what a typical day is like for me.

I’m lucky this year because I don’t have summer school, so I can sleep in. I also don’t have work, so I don’t have to worry about waking up. Sleeping is honestly the easiest way to get through the day. Otherwise I’ll just be sitting around bored out of my mind. There’s a limit to how much tv you can watch or how many pages you can read in a day.

But besides reading and binge-watching tv shows, there is a religious aspect of Ramadan. Usually, most Muslims attempt to finish the whole Quran during this month. The last two years I wasn’t that successful because of summer school, but since I have literally nothing this summer, I think I should be able to accomplish this.

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that I’m not sure when I’ll have time or when I’ll be in the mood to write up blogposts or read. So things may be a bit erratic this month.

Also, I may be participating in my first ever blog tour! I just received the ebook today, so I’m going to have to push my TBR back a little!


JUNE TBR

28259776.jpg
THE GUIDE
By: Justin Chandler

Goodreads“Know yourself.” Nicholas Forsythe never knew how important those words were at his first year at Glenoak High School until he met Garron. After he is given a mentor by his parents to help guide him through his rebellious phase, Nicholas is initially skeptical of Garron’s methods. Who is he? How does he know so much about Nicholas without meeting him? As Nicholas works to find the answers to these and other questions about the guiding process, he soon uncovers a deep secret about Garron and the guides: they are from the future, working for the mysterious Determinant Industries in an attempt to fix the perils of the past. All is well with the program, but when a brooding figure from Garron’s time threatens to unravel the very events of history, it’s up to Nick and Garron to not only save their lives, but also the entire fate of the future. Through strained friendships, inner battles with identity and free will, and watching the entire world around him morph and change to the whims of an evil dictator, Nick discovers the true meaning of choice and the sacrifice involved in order to truly “know yourself.”

IMG_2439
PERCY JACKSON AND THE OLYMPIANS
By: Rick Riordan

Goodreads
Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Can we all have a round of applause for me finally getting around to reading this series? I’m definitely the last person on earth to pick up these books and I’M SO EXCITED! Like I already know I’m going to love these books AND on top of that, after taking that mythology course this past year, I consider myself a pro on Greek and Roman mythology, so this is just perfect! I’m probably going to be fangirling when I read this, not just because of Percy, but because I recognize all these myths!

Since I’m going to be reading the Quran, I’m adding that to my TBR too 🙂

Hope you all have a great reading month!

–Sakina

13 thoughts on “June TBR and Life Update!

  1. Thanks for this blog post. I would be interested in hearing about how ye spend yer time during Ramadan. I always love hearing personal accounts of religion and cultures different from me own. That’s why new ports are always so fascinating.
    x The Captain

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I turned 21 in May! Yay for being 21 haha! Is good luck the right thing to say for Ramadan? (apologies, I should know this!), I hope it goes well for you! Good luck getting through the Quran!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 21? I feel like a child. I’m 19 😀 Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll be productive with blogging this month either. I’m usually tired all the time. I’ll try to get a couple reviews out in the month, but no promises. Good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m the exact same. Last Ramadan was really hard for me. I’ve no idea how I’ll do this month. And it’s so soon. I swear time flies by so fast. Hopefully you’ll find it easier this month 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

