Bookish Things

May Wrap-up!

I can’t believe May is over! I’ve been on summer break for a little over a month now and I’m definitely feeling the laziness kicking in. I’m still looking for a summer job – I’m not sure what I’ll do if I don’t find a job by the end of the year. My plans for after uni will be impossible, so I’m trying to come up with other ideas and things I can do if I can’t move away for college. But let’s not talk about the sad, depressing stuff. Let’s talk about books!

BLOG POSTS FROM THIS MONTH:

Actually, first I’m going to talk about blogging. I think I’ve been pretty good this month in terms of blogging. I don’t really have a schedule because I feel like I’ll have the same posts up on the same days every week – what with TTT, T5W… But, I’m posting at least! I tried out T5W this month, which I really enjoyed. And Teaser Tuesdays are so easy and fun to do!

Here are the posts I wrote this month:

April Wrap-Up and May TBR!

TTT#4: Ten Books From My Childhood That I’d Like to Revisit

The Book Blogger Test and April Book Haul!

The Sunshine Blogger Award!

Teaser Tuesday #1: Shatterglass by Tamora Pierce

Top 5 Wednesday #1: Summer Reads

TV Shows That I Need to Watch This Summer!

Why I Suck at Reviewing Books?

Okay, WOW! I didn’t realize I wrote all these posts!

MAY WRAP-UP

Like I said in my MAY TBR, this month was Tamora Pierce month! If you didn’t know, though that’s highly unlikely since I’ve been literally shouting about Briar on Twitter, I’m doing Nori’s Read Tamora Pierce 2016 challenge! I decided to start off with The Circle Opens series, and then go on to her companion novels. There were 7 books in total! AND I READ ALL OF THEM! I don’t think I’ve read 7 books in one month, in like years!

51XDCWYR08L
MAGIC STEPS (The Circle Opens #1)
By: Tamora Pierce
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was a great start to the series! I loved seeing an even more mature and responsible Sandry and I’m just dying over how loving and caring she is towards her Uncle Vedris ☺️ I still find Sandry’s magic a little difficult to picture. Same with Daja, but I think that that’s just because I don’t have a lot of experience with weaving and metal-working, like I do with plant magic and weather magic.

 


STREET MAGIC – 4.5/5 ⭐️’s

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 2.25.55 PM.png

Briar is literally so cute! But he’s only 14 in this book, so I feel kind of bad and wrong. But he’s 18 in The Will of the Empress, so I’m okay now.

COLD FIRE – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

SHATTERGLASS – 3.5/5 ⭐️’s

This series was a lot darker than The Circle of Magic series and I LOVED IT! The kids (more like teens or goats – inside joke 😂) are in the adult world now, far away from the safety of Winding Circle. Though I wouldn’t say they were all that safe during the first series, what with earthquakes, pirate attacks, and plagues. But now, they are surrounded by people who aren’t as comfortable about magic, especially magic performed by a 14-year-old accredited mage.

I loved seeing them encounter different kinds of magics, mages, places, people, languages, food, cultures, beliefs…You could literally go on and on! This is what I love about Tamora Pierce’s books – they’re so diverse! Different races, check! Different cultures, languages, food? Check, check, and check! The books also deal with important social issues like poverty, mental health, war, environment, bullying, etc.

Also, I love how responsible and grown-up Sandry, Briar, Daja and Tris are in these books! They don’t really act like 14 year-olds, which kind of makes sense since they’ve been through a lot in their short lives.

the-will-of-the-empress
THE WILL OF THE EMPRESS
By: Tamora Pierce
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

AAAHHHHHHHH! THIS. BOOK. WAS. SOOOO. GOOD.

 

 

 

 

Here are my Goodreads status updates:

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 2.10.26 PM.png

8306725
BATTLE MAGIC
By: Tamora Pierce
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I have a mini-review up on Goodreads.

 

 

 

 

0-545-05264-5

MELTING STONES
By: Tamora Pierce
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the others. I had hoped that Briar would be in this, but unfortunately this takes place when Briar and the others are in Namorn. I still loved seeing the relationship between Rosethorn and Evvy. My only complaint was that it was kind of predictable what was going to happen. Like I figured out the reason for the dead plants and bad water pretty much immediately. But the ending was kind of interesting and not something I was totally expecting. Evvy definitely grew as a character in this book. I still love how spontaneous and confident she is, and how she always gets into trouble. She reminds me a lot of Briar, though I think she is more of a handful than Briar was.

My only other complaint is that I wish I had read the last three books in a different order. Since I read TWOTE first, I was actually spoiled for a few things that happened in Battle Magic. They weren’t huge spoilers or anything. It’s just that while I was reading Battle Magic, I would constantly be sitting there wondering when a certain thing was going to happen. If I could redo this, I would read Battle Magic first, then Melting Stones (since it wasn’t as great), and then TWOTE – saving the best for last!

What did you read this month? Tell me in the comments below!

–Sakina

(Oh! Stay tuned for my June TBR and Life Update, as well as a couple of other cool, exciting posts this month!)

 

 

8 thoughts on “May Wrap-up!

  1. I read Melting Stones (not really recently but it was the last one I read) and because my book taste has changed a TON since I read The Circle of Magic series, I kind of wanted to break up with the series…
    (also I didn’t read other reviews for Melting Stones for some odd reason? At least I don’t remember them? why cynthia?)

    BUT IT’S NOT JUST ME! *runs off to find ALL THE BOOKS*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t really like Melting Stones. I mean it was good, but not great! I think it was originally published as an audiobook and then published as a book, so I’m not sure if that has anything to do with it. Have you read her Tortall books? They’re my favourite out of all her books 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

