Bookish Things

Why I Suck At Reviewing Books?

You might be wondering why I don’t post a lot of reviews on this blog. Well, it’s not due to lack of trying. I’m just terrible at them.

It’s funny because that’s kind of what book blogging is all about. I’ve yet to come across a book blog that is lacking of reviews. Now I’m not saying all these bloggers have an easy-skipping-down-the-sidewalk-to-the-library experience when writing a book review. I know that I just started blogging, and that it might take me time to figure out how to word my feelings and emotions when it comes to books, but I don’t know…

I don’t enjoy writing book reviews. I’m the kind of person that just wants to the take the book and throw it at a personΒ to make them read it (in a nice way):

giphy

I’m the kind of person who uses asdfghjklΒ or !!!! to explain how I’m feeling. Or I just squeal – usually on the inside, but sometimes on the outside. (I end up getting annoyed and disgusted looks from my sister when I do that.)

giphy.gif

I’m the kind of person who bores my close friends (more like 1 friend πŸ˜‚) to death by raving about how AMAZING a book was, or how the ending was SO SAD,Β BUT SHE SHOULD DEFINITELY READ IT! At least my friend pretends to be interested.

sino5Vy.gif

The funny thing is, I can come up with a review in my head. I can finish reading a book, and in my head start to form sentences and thoughts, but literally, if I sat down at that moment to write those thoughts down, I start second guessing everything.Β Does that sound right? Does that even make sense? Does that even do my feelings justice?Β 

Even if I waited a day or to, it doesn’t help. Like I just finished reading The Will of the Empress, and I HAVE SO MANY FEELS, and like I know what I’d like to write, but I just CAN’T????

Then there is the fact that I’m usually the last person on Earth to have read most of the more popular books from the past few years. I don’t go around reading reviews of books that I haven’t read yet, unless it specifically says that it doesn’t contain spoilers. Even then, I’m hesitant. I’ve read reviews of a book, after reading the book myself, and it kind of changes my feelings towards the book and makes it even harder for me to write a review.Β I should probably never read reviews, but then how am I supposed to get better at writing them?

I’ve thought about keeping a reading journal as I read, but alas I’m hopeless. When I’m reading, I’m usually engrossed in the book and literally aliens could be attacking the world and I wouldn’t give a crap! Having to stop mid-battle or mid-snarky-reply-to-handsome-fellow would take a lot of self-control, which I don’t have. I do use Goodreads while I’m reading, and try to update frequently, but I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone else, so I’m careful with my updates.

I’ve also thought about maybe writing my reviews differently, or in a different style. Like I could use GIFs to explain my feelings, or divide up what I want to talk about. But as I sit down to write it, it just gets annoying. I don’t want to writeΒ about the characters and what I thought. I don’t want to write about the world-building and the plot. I could talk about it with someone, but writing it down and making it good enough that I feel confident enough to post it, it’s justΒ too stressful.

Even with all these issues, I’m not entirely mad at myself for not writing reviews. I mean, IΒ want to write reviews. Badly. But, if I don’t it won’t be the end of the world. I know that a lot of people write reviews because they enjoy them, or because they want to share their thoughts and feelings with everyone else, or maybe because they’re hoping that they’ll be able to receive ARCs from publishers one day. (Probably all three reasons). But for me, personally, I don’t care about ARCs.Β I don’t like writing reviews. And I wish I could share my thoughts about the book with people, but I guess I’ll have to figure out another, more coherent way.

Well, that’s it. There’s my rant. If you have any suggestions, helpful tips, thoughts/opinions, internet hugs to give, comment down below. (So I don’t feel bad about posting this).

22 thoughts on “Why I Suck At Reviewing Books?

  1. I agree with not feeling as though my blogs are good enough and that I dislike doing them. However, after reading your one year blog and this one, your writing skills do not lack. I think you do a very good job. Find your own style, which I think you already have. Make it a point to try and write at least one review a month. Maybe with writing more of them, you can become to like them a bit more. Congrats on one year!!! Lovely blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! That means a lot to me! I’ve been writing more reviews since I wrote that post, but I’ve been doing it on Goodreads instead. For some reason I don’t feel as pressured on there – I guess because no one reads them so I can write whatever and not care too much lol. But it’s better than nothing! ❀

      Like

  2. I am exactly the same! I know what I want to say but can’t express myself or write out how I want to say it! Loved your post by the way! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not much of a book blogger (my blog’s subtitle is “An eclectic collection of various things at random moments”), but I do review books and other things occasionally. I feel about the same way, I just want to rave about whatever it is I’ve just discovered and don’t quite know how to get it out. I find just writing from head to computer helps me get things out quickly without much hindrance from myself. Then I go back and edit if I feel like whatever came out of my head was all over the place. I really enjoyed reading your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m thinking about actually attempting to keep a reading journal with me while I read, so I can jot down thoughts and stuff. It might also force me to slow down and take my time when I read instead of ploughing through all the good, tense scenes πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh man, I hope you don’t stress and try to force yourself into something you genuinely don’t enjoy. If your book blog is more about fangirling than reviewing, what’s wrong with that? Do what makes you happy!

    That said, if you really do want to play around with other forms of reviewing, maybe consider doing one-phrase summaries or emojis for each subsection of a book review? Something like:

    Story: πŸ˜„
    Heroine: 😎
    Love Interest: 😳
    Second Love Interest: 😩
    Romance: 😯
    Readability: πŸ˜€
    Recommend?: πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

    Or:

    Story: AWESOME
    Heroine: can I be her please?
    Love Interest: GIVE HIM TO ME
    Second Love Interest: uuuuuugh
    Romance: hot but not TOO hot
    Readability: seriously couldn’t put it down
    Recommend?: READ IT. READ IT NOW.

    Dunno if that helps, but in any case: good luck! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love this idea! Thanks Liam! I’m definitely going to try this! I’ve decided that I’m going to focus more on reading, instead of worrying about reviewing. And I’ll only review when I feel like it. Ironically, after publishing this post yesterday, I finished reading my current read and decided to write a mini-review on Goodreads πŸ˜³πŸ˜‚ I used to write reviews on Goodreads before I started my blog, so maybe I’ll stick to that instead. I just feel more comfortable there, or I guess I’m more used to reviewing there.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. INTERNET HUGSS. I say if you enjoy writing it, go for it πŸ™‚ I love reading all things books and even if there are no reviews, it’s fine! If you are comfortable sitting down and writing reviews (the rants and raves are awesome I’m telling you!) than go ahead but if not, post as you like! You shouldn’t have to force yourself to do anything you don’t want to do!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My favorite reviews are the less composed ones! I don’t expect you to be a scholar or have some well-thought-out review about the merits of their comma usage or language. Shoot, I want ALL reviews to be in a language that is equivalent to how a friend would recommend it! So you need to “sldkfjasdkf!” or “*throwing a book at you*” in your review – I think that’s perfect!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I’m also new to this reviewing books thing, and I always second guess myself when I’m writing reviews I feel like I’m just rambling about my thoughts and feelings then calling it a review. I also feel like this, sometimes I just find myself typing expressions like, “I REALLY JUST CAN’T EVEN?!”, which sounds annoying but that is exactly how I feel.

    Maybe, you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. It’s okay if you don’t like writing reviews, I think the important thing is the reading books part and not the reviewing books part. And maybe, just give yourself sometime then hopefully you’ll feel like writing reviews. You have mentioned that you like talking about books but not writing your thoughts, so maybe you could join BookTube! Try to open up a Youtube channel where you could talk about books! It’s a good alternative. πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one! Yeah, I think I’m just going to focus on reading and maybe the urge to review will just randomly happen at some point. I’ve thought about joining BookTube and I really want to, it’s just not that possible at the moment. I’m really camera shy and I doubt my parents would be okay with me putting myself on the Internet. I already get teased by my brother and sister for starting a blog and bookstagram, lol, so I’m probably going to have to wait till I move out or something 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. You 100% shouldn’t feel bad about this. Sometimes writing reviews doesn’t come easily, and that’s okay. Don’t plan to write a review, just write your honest thoughts about it. When you finish a book, think about everything you liked/didn’t like about it, and I guarantee you’ll have at least one thought on it. There will be reasons you liked it a lot/ hated it. I promise. If not, you can have a structure for your future reviews. Points you’ll always mention, like character, setting, world-building etc. If every single review for a book was the same, well, there’d be no point in reading reviews! It’s completely okay to have your own voice when reviewing books. Your opinion is as valid as the next persons. And if you don’t want to do any of this, that’s okay too. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I also feel sometimes like that whenever I try to express my opinion, Plus as english is not my mother tongue I feel like I am lacking of vocabulary to express better. But is something I do like doing so IΒ΄ll keep trying πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

