Bookish Things

The Sunshine Blogger Award!

Thank you to both Fatima (Noteable Pad) and Leslie (Leslie’s Library) for nominating me! They both gave me a set of questions to answer, so this is what I’m going to do. I’m going to answer 6 of Fatima’s questions and 6 of Leslie’s questions. The rest of their questions, I’ll give to the bloggers I nominate, along with a couple of mine.

The Rules

  • Thank the person(s) for nominating you
  • Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers to receive the award and write them 11 new questions to answer

1. Would you choose to live forever even if that meant losing your loved ones?

This is a tricky one, but I think my answer would be no. Even though a part of me would want to live and see what happens to the world, another part of me would want to move on. Also, if everyone I love dies and no one gets to live as long as me, I’ll be all alone, which is kind of sad.

2. Do you have any famous relatives?

Not exactly. My grandfather on my mom’s side was really well known in Karachi, Pakistan. But I wouldn’t say he was famous. He just had a lot of connections and was really involved in his community.

3. What book have you reread the most?

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I sometimes go back and read my favourite scenes too 🙂

4. What is the strangest thing you have eaten?

Kidneys. My mom tricked me into eating them and it was terrible. I don’t think it tasted bad, but just the thought of eating kidneys disgusted me.

5. Do you have a favourite word?

Well, there is this one word from a middle-grade series that I read a while ago that I can’t get out of my head: FABULONGOSHOOMARVELISHLYWONDERPIPICAL

It’s not a real word though. If any of you know what series this is from, you get a cookie 🍪

6. What was the last thing you laughed at?

Oh, I don’t know! I feel like I’m always laughing at one thing or another! I did laugh at this tweet:

But you’ll only get it if you’ve read Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy.

7. Do you like going into books completely blind or do you prefer having an idea or a sense of understanding of what you’re about to read?

I love going into books completely blind, especially because that way I don’t have any high or low expectations. Usually what ends up happening is that I go into the book vaguely knowing what it’s about. Like for example, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – all I know is that it’s weird, kind of creepy, there are some kids who go to a school and they have powers. That’s usually all I like to know.

8. Are you more of a morning reader or night reader?

I come from a loud family, so it’s hard to find some quiet time to read during the day. But it really depends. If everyone in my family is kind of chilling, I’ll get a lot of reading done. But most of the time, I end up staying up really late at night reading, which means I don’t get a lot of sleep or I end up sleeping in most days and get nothing done.

9. Do you like to listen to music when you read or do you prefer complete silence?

Definitely silence. I don’t mind mild chatter in the background (I do read on the bus and at school sometimes), but if it’s too loud, I can’t concentrate.

10. What is your favourite genre to read?

Fantasy!

11. Approximately how many books are on your TBR list?

Wow! I don’t even have all the books I want to read on my Goodreads TBR. At the moment, I have 276.

12. Are you more of a coffee or tea drinker?

Tea all the way! Especially Persian black tea or chai (traditional Pakistani chai, not the stuff you can get from Starbucks or Tim Hortons).

 

My Nominations:

The Sapphire

Seaweed Books

It’s a Bookish Thing 13

Morrisa Reads

#lovebooks

Reading and Inked

The Bibliophile Court

Wonderfilled Reads

The Book Jar Blog

Hey Ashers!

A Bibliophile’s Obsession 

 

Questions:

  1. If you could swap bodies with anyone in the world, who would that be?
  2. Are you an only child, or do you have siblings? And how has this affected your life?
  3. What is a personality trait you wish you had?
  4. Where do you see yourself in a year from now?
  5. If you could freeze time so you could live in a moment forever, would you do it?
  6. When you want to go back to your childhood days, which book(s) do you usually read (re-read)?
  7. What is the one thing you do to destress?
  8. Is there a book/series that everyone loved but you didn’t? If so, which one and why
  9. What is your favorite season?
  10. If you knew you couldn’t fail, what would you do?
  11. If you ever wrote your own book, what genre would it be?

 

13 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award!

  1. Eeep, I loved reading this! And I’m the SAME with noise-levels-while-reading…I can’t concentrate when there’s too much going on?! And music is a definite no. 😛 I also like only knowing the premise or vague synopsis before starting a book!! I BARELY EVER READ BLURBS. hehe. It’s almost more exciting that way? You have a vague idea and then, BOOM, tons of room for fun surprises. :’)

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha I love AGATB! I love that trilogy. My friend made me read it years ago and we bonded over that book. We even started to call people in our lives after the characters, like Kartik. Those were good times 🙂
    I’ve had kidney too, but didn’t like the thought of it at all. I didn’t even know it was kidney, I was tricked into it just like you. Also, persian tea is AMAZING. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to reread AGATB soon! I read it a while ago and convinced my friend to read it, but she didn’t like it as much. Kartik though…😍😍😍 I’m still hoping for another series focusing on what happens to Gemma afterwards. Persian tea is literally my favourite tea in the world!!! I went to Iran a few years ago to visit family and my aunt would make us some everyday 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL. Kartik was charming ❤
        I think I should give it a reread too.
        Yes! I go to my friend's house all the time because her mum makes perfect Persian tea. 😀 This is the third time I'm talking about tea today. Something's wrong with me!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kidneys? Nope nope nope. I’m glad you didn’t think they tasted awful, though; the experience could’ve been worse?

    I’ve been meaning to read A Great and Terrible Beauty for so long, I’d actually forgotten about it. Now I’m re-intrigued!

    Oh, I’ve never had Pakistani chai, but I’m addicted to Indian chai. Are they much different from each other? I’ll have to look up recipes and give it a try!

    Love your answers, and thanks for the tag! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It tasted kind of chewy though. All I know is I spit it up after 😬 AGATB is so good! I haven’t read her Diviners books yet though. My mom says that Pakistani and Indian chai do taste different, but she says it depends on what kind of tea you use. Also people add stuff into the chai for flavour. I wish I knew the English words for them so I could tell you lol 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh man, so gross.

        I haven’t read Diviners yet, either. We’ll have to compare notes when we both get around to them!

        There’s a Pakistani restaurant in the city I’ll be moving to in a couple months. I love Indian food, but have never had a chance to try Pakistani food. Looking forward to eating all the tasty things, and seeing if I can figure out the difference between the chais! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your answer and I can relate to most of them.
    I’m also a Pakistani so naturally I have a loud family too but I think it gets weird when everyone is really quiet and silent xD
    I also can not read or even sleep when even a single person is talking.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I know. It’s like there are so many voices. You can see the auntie screaming (she’s actually talking) and then another person screaming more to prove their point and then there are kids who are crying and screaming on top of their lungs and then there are teenage girls mostly fake complimenting each other. xD

        Liked by 1 person

        1. We’re going to have about 16 people over tomorrow, so it’s pretty much going to be exactly what you said lol 😂 About 6 or so aunties screaming (talking), while us teenagers try to be civil towards each other

          Like

  5. Loved your answer! And now that I think about it, I do have quite a big family too and they can get rowdy and loud, that’s why I tend to read at night too when everyone is quiet and asleep lol! Never even thought about it that way until now 😋

    Like

Leave a Reply!

