Bookish Things

TTT#4: Ten Books From My Childhood That I’d Like to Revisit

***TTT is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish***

This week’s topic is about the Top 10 Characters You Would Like To Revisit From Your Childhood. I decided to take a slight twist on this and instead talk about the Top 10 Books That I’d Like To Revisit As An Adult! A lot of these books/series I read a long time ago. Some of these books I haven’t even thought of until recently. I’d love to be able to find the time to go back and reread them at some point and see if I still enjoy them as much as I did when I was younger!

THE HARRY POTTER SERIES
By: JK Rowling

9780545582889_p0_v2_s192x300

I have a confession to make – I haven’t reread the Harry Potter books all the way through since Deathly Hallows came out. *I know, I know, I’m a bad Harry Potter fan* Though I did recently reread the first book, I really would like to revisit the world and read the whole series cover to cover. The Philosopher’s Stone was still as amazing as I remembered it, but it would be interesting to read the rest of the books as an adult!

A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS
By: Lemony Snicket

BadBeginning

Have you guys seen the pictures of Olaf from the Netflix series?!? I’ve watched the movie hundreds of times, but I’ve yet to read the series again as an adult! I’ve heard from people who are rereading the series that Count Olaf is as creepy and terrifying as he always was!

CHRONICLES OF NARNIA 
By: CS Lewis

pknarniawitch1

Apparently there are a lot of references to Christianity and parables from the Bible in this series, but as a 11-12 year old I never really noticed them. I recently reread The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, and was surprised at how obvious it was!

LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE
By: Laura Ingalls Wilder

little-house-in-the-big-woods-cover-image

This series and the tv show were my life when I was little! I haven’t reread the series since I was probably 8, but it would definitely be great to revisit this now that I’m older!

THE BFG
By: Roald Dhal

bfg.jpg

Who else is excited for the movie?!! My grade 5 teacher read this book to us out-loud and then gifted us all with our own copies as a present at the end of the year! I’m planning to reread it next month!

HEARTLAND
By: Lauren Brooke

1002520.jpg

I’m not sure if any of you have read this series, but during my “horse” phase, I was obsessed with this, along with Lauren Brooke’s Chestnut Hill series! I’m not so much a fan of the tv series, though. They really changed a lot from the books and added random new characters. I really, really want to reread this soon! I have a feeling that I’ll enjoy it as much as I did when I was 11 😄

THE SADDLE CLUB
By: Bonnie Bryant

51Tf4UfBjML._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Another series from my “horse-obsessed” years that I’d like to revisit! 🐴

THE GIVER
By: Lois Lowry

3636.jpg

I don’t really remember what happened in this book, and I don’t think I fully understood what was going on. Definitely something that I need to reread.

HATCHET
By: Gary Paulson

Hatchet1

I remember really enjoying Hatchet, but not so much the rest of the books in the series. I’ll have to pick these up again at some point!


MAGIC TREEHOUSE

By: Mary Pope Osborne

824734

Besides for my Hogwarts Letter that never came, I’ve always wanted a Magic Treehouse, so I could travel back in time and have adventures! I think I may be a bit too old for the series now, but it’s something that I’d like my kids to read at some point!

Did you read any of these as a child? If the authors of these books were to write a novella about these characters now, what do you think these characters would be doing?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “TTT#4: Ten Books From My Childhood That I’d Like to Revisit

  1. I’m kind of half terrified to reread my favourite childhood books. XD WHAT IF I DON’T LOVE THEM AS MUCH?? AHHHH. #panic So that’s a big reason I barely ever try…although I WANT to re-read all the Lemony Snicket books before the TV series starts. Those books were my childhood obsession. xD And yes! Yes! Hatchet was amazing, right?! I went on to read all the companion books and ADORED them too.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually read The Giver about a year or so ago (well, I read it again after years of not having read it) and it really leaves you hanging! I want updates too! I SO agree with Harry Potter though. And don’t worry, I haven’t reread ANY of the books since the final one came out. However, I’m planning to do a complete reread soon. My sister has already started on hers!

    -Lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t own all the Harry Potter books, so that’s kind of why a reread never happened. I guess that means I should buy the whole series – I can hear my wallet crying 😂😅

      Like

Leave a Reply!

