Bookish Things

April Wrap-Up and May TBR!

April was a pretty stressful month, what with finals and last minute assignments. So not a whole lot of reading was done 😦

IMG_2108.JPG
ELEANOR AND PARK
By: Rainbow Rowell
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I finished reading Eleanor and Park earlier in April and I have to say that I was disappointed. I guess Rainbow Rowell is just not for me. I’m not a huge fan of contemporary, but usually I don’t mind it all that much. What really bothered me about this book was Eleanor and Park’s relationship. It didn’t feel realistic…or maybe it’s just me. I’ve never been in a relationship before, so I don’t really know what is normal and what isn’t. I just felt that at times, the conversations between Eleanor and Park were just not conversations actual people IRL have. The way they talked about their feelings and love and things like that were just weird for me. I read Landline a couple months back and I think this was also why I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I was going to. Do real couples actually talk about their relationship and love and their feelings? I’m not really the kind of person who likes to talk about my feelings with my family, but I am a lot more open with my friends. I like to think that if I got married, that I would be able to talk about everything with my husband, but sometimes it kind of feels like a stretch – like I’m being too hopeful. Anyway, maybe this could be something I could expand on in another blog post. As for now I don’t plan on reading anymore of Rainbow Rowell’s books (and yes, that includes Fangirl, even though I’ve been told that it’s her best book!). Maybe one day I’ll pick up her books again.

IMG_2254
TRUTHWITCH
By: Susan Dennard
Rating: 4.5/5 ‘s

I’m currently writing the review for this, but all I can say is that I was really surprised! I didn’t expect to enjoy this book as much as I did, but WOW was it good!

Also Merik and Safi 😍

 

 

BLOG POSTS FROM THIS MONTH:

This wasn’t a great blogging month for me, but here are the posts I wrote this month:

Life Update: Taking a Break
I’m Back
Creative and Versatile Blogger Awards


MAY TBR

May is going to be officially Tamora Pierce month! If you didn’t know, I’m doing Nori’s Read Tamora Pierce 2016 challenge! I read the Circle of Magic series back in February and decided to start her Circle Opens series, along with her companion novels to the Emelan Universe this month. There are 7 books in total, so I’m definitely going to be busy! (Hopefully, I don’t get into a Tamora Pierce reading slump from reading too many of her books all at once.)

Here they are in the order that I’m reading them:

51XDCWYR08L
24093

8306725

153792

41Tej+sSRxL

the-will-of-the-empress

0-545-05264-5

I’m also thinking about picking up a classic – probably Jane Eyre – because my goal is to read at least a couple this year!

POSTS YOU SHOULD LOOK FORWARD TOO!

  • April Book Haul – I was supposed to have this post written by now, but the sun has decided to disappear for a few days and I can’t do a book haul without showing you guys the actual books, and I need natural (good) lighting to take pictures…do you see my dilemma 😒
  • Truthwitch Review – It’s coming, I promise! I’m going to try and write more reviews now that it’s summer and I have time
  • TTT – I’m excited for this week’s topic!
  • I’d like to try and participate in T5W this month and also Teaser Tuesday
  • I’m also planning to write a discussion post on romance in books
  • Some personal/lifestyle posts

Hope you all have a great reading month!

–Sakina

 

 

8 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up and May TBR!

  1. Wow, I thought I was the only one who didn’t love Eleanor and Park!! I think my main problem was that before I read it I had super high expectations about this book. I did read Fangirl and I liked it but didn’t love it so I’m not very interested in reading more Rainbow Rowell’s books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that is one of the few not over-the-moon reviews I’ve seen for Eleanor and Park. It’s never been one that struck my fancy, so it’s nice to see that it’s not necessarily the greatest thing in the world.
    I haven’t thought about Tamora Pierce books since I was a kid! Now I want to go read those…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I’m just an exception when it comes to most contemporary books. But definitely pick up Tamora Pierce! I’m enjoying her books even more than I did when I was younger! And I can now fully appreciate what she did for the fantasy genre and how she affected so many young girls with her strong female characters 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Have you read the Circle of Magic series (the one before The Circle Opens) too!?!??!?!?!? I LOVE THEM BOTH AND THEY WERE MY CHILDHOOD AKDLJFHASKLDJFH

    Though I haven’t gotten my hands on Shatterglass yet *weeps*

    *flails casually*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read Circle of Magic in February! It’s my first time reading Pierce’s Emelan books, but I read pretty much all of her Tortall books when I was younger and OMG THEY WERE MY LIFE!!! I had a friend who was as obsessed with them as me and we would just sit around and discuss the books in detail and talk about all the cute guys and who we’d like to end up with lol 😂 I have emails saved from 2010 where I literally wrote essays to her about Alanna and Daine *hides behind nerdiness*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply!

