Bookish Things

GUOTSBE #1: An Interview With Yourself

If you’re wondering what the hell GUOTSBE means, it stands for…GET UP OFFA THAT SLUMP: BLOGGING EXTRAVAGANZA! Kind of a long title, so I shortened it into an acronym that I can’t pronounce 😊 If you have no idea what this is about, check out Rachel’s post on Beauty and the Bookshelf.

Blogging Extravaganza
Image: Rachel’s post

Today’s blogpost is going to be an interview with myself so you guys can get to know me better 🙂

What’s your name?
Hi! My name is Sakina.

What a beautiful name! What does Sakina mean?
Why thank you! My name is Arabic for “tranquility”. Kind of neat right? I’m not sure if I’m that “tranquil” all the time, but I’m generally pretty shy and awkward and I don’t talk that much.

Where do you live?
Ontario, Canada. I also live in an igloo, eat maple syrup with everything, and ride a polar bear to school!

What?!!? Really?
*Laughs mischievously* Just kidding! I’ve never built an igloo in my life – I literally have no idea how! I don’t like maple syrup, except for those maple cookies – OMG they’re soooo good! And I take the bus to school 🙂

TWMH.MapleLeaf.LG.jpg
Link for Image

How old are you?
I’m 20 years old, but I look 16 – at least according to everyone else.

When’s your birthday?
July, 2nd!!! The day after Canada Day and two days before Independence Day!

Are you religious?
Yes. If you can’t tell by my name, I’m actually a Muslim!

What do you look like?
I absolutely can’t take a selfie for the life of me – the camera hates me or something! BUT, here’s a pic of me as a little kid 🙂 I pretty much look the same now lol 😂

IMG_1988

What do you study?
I’m currently majoring in Medical Science and minoring in Classical Studies.

Favourite food?
Anything with rice! My parents are originally from Pakistan, and I’ve grown up eating traditional food my whole life.

Favourite drink?
Milk? I’m kind of boring. I like tea too, but I literally can’t go a day without drinking milk.

Favourite fruit?
Every fruit? I’m not a huge fan of oranges though – mostly because they’re annoying to eat.

Chocolate or sweets?
Definitely chocolate! Why all these questions about food? You’re making me hungry!

Sorry. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?
Definitely Rome. I’m a Classics minor after all!

What do you want to do after school?
You know you’re NEVER supposed to ask a college/university student that question! lol I’m joking. I don’t really know. I’m planning to go to college after (I’m in university right now) to study something science related – so I can get a job. My dream would be to get into a publishing program and work at Penguin Random House or Harpercollins, but I guess we’ll see.

Favourite book?
For a long time I couldn’t really pick just one. But the book that always comes to mind is Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I just have so many memories associated with that book and I think it will probably be my favourite forever! I still own my first copy and it’s falling apart from all the love!

IMG_1741_1.JPG

Would you ever write your own book?
When I was little, I wanted to be a writer when I grew up. At the moment, I’m just happy reading. I think that mostly has to do with not having read a lot the past few years. I just want to catch up on all the books I’ve missed. Maybe later on.

Favourite movie?
I watched Cinderella (the one starring Lily James) last year and I still can’t forget it for some reason. It was just so beautiful 😍 Also Interstellar was asdfghjkl and I still don’t know what to do with my life.

Favourite tv show?
I watched Lost two summers ago and I have to say it’s definitely my favourite show of all time! Also Prison Break because Michael Schofield is bae 😉

Did you like this interview?
Yeah, I actually had a lot of fun!

Wouldn’t it be nice if real interviews were like this?
YES. I hate real interviews. This is sooo much better!

This blogpost kind of has a Christmasy theme with the green and red.
Yeah, I just realized. Oh well, everyone loves Christmas, right?

I’m going to go and eat chocolate. Talk to you later!
Same! Bye!

 

For more about me, check out my Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads!

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “GUOTSBE #1: An Interview With Yourself

  1. Hello! I recently found your blog and it’s the cutest thing ever! I thought this interview was hilarious! I’m from Bangladesh so I guess we’re semi-neighbors. Rice is fantastic. Order of Phoenix is my favorite too! It’s weird because most people say it’s their least favorite but I love everything about that book. And I love hating Umbridge of-course. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AHHH CHOCOLATE. I really feel like some now…*dashes off* AHEM.

    Omg but Prison Break! I must take a moment to aBSOLUTELY FAIL. And then confess that I actually quit after S1 because I was so so stressed and anxious watching it. XD I just wanted them to get out so badly?!? And everything always went wrong and GAH. *has a small crisis* It’s still such a good show though.

    Also I’m 22 but everyone thinks I look 16. xD THE STRUGGLE OF THAT IS REAL. XD

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a stressful show! I watched it with my family – obviously because it’s such a family friendly show lol – and it helped a little, BUT I was still cowering and covering my eyes every 10 seconds! It gets really really good though!!! They’re taking out a short miniseries later this year, so I’m thinking of rewatching Prison Break! Also I totally feel you – I swear I could pass for 12 sometimes. Like literally everyone gives me a different answer! Some people think my sister and I are twins (so 16), but I’ve had people think I’m younger than that! Thanks for commenting! ❤️

      Like

  3. These are great answers!

    What’s your favorite Pakistan food? I’m not very familiar with it, so I wouldn’t know where to begin. My husband and I like to try food from all over. Sadly, where we live doesn’t have too many options. It’s mostly Italian and some South American places.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely biryani! It’s my favourite and I ask for it on my birthday every year! I actually never eat out – mostly because my mom’s cooking is amazing, so I’ve never really tried Italian or South American food.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Sakina! Your name is beautiful and I love the meaning.

    Haha…well, if you live in an igloo and ride polar bears to school I definitely live in a grass shack and either surf or canoe to school (if I went to school) since I live in Hawaii. It always makes me laugh when people take little jokes like that seriously…itʻs strange to think that sometimes, people still do!

    People basically thought that I was 16 until I turned 23…now they think Iʻm in my early 20s unless Iʻm wearing makeup. Baby face syndrome is a real thing! But maybe that means weʻll look super young even as old people.

    Your post definitely made me hungry for chocolate…and we donʻt have any in the house. Ah well…a trip to the store is much needed, I think.

    Great interview!

    Like

    1. I’ve always wanted to go to Hawaii! Mostly to see the volcanoes from a safe distance 😊 I don’t wear make up at all, so I think that’s why people think I’m so young. I probably should (my mom always tries to make me), but I’m stubborn and I want people to accept me for who I am as a person and not by how I look. Lol I always keep chocolate at home just in case ☺️

      Like

    1. Thanks! How cool would that be if everyone arrived to class on a polar bear?! I haven’t reread Order of the Phoenix in a while. Definitely need to get on that! 🙂

      Like

  5. I love the stereotypes of Canada up there! I’m from Southern California and my brother-in-law is from Canada and when he first met my sister he asked if we see a lot of celebrities around xD Oh, how the world views other areas of…the world lol

    Here is my interview!
    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment! Yeah I love all those stereotypes! I mean based on those stereotypes people would think I’m not a normal Canadian. I mean I hate hockey! 😳 lol I always assumed people in California bump into celebrities all the time. But you guys do have really cool events – book and non-book related!

      Like

  6. I have a baby face too! Yay!
    Your name is so pretty. Medical Science and Classics sounds like a really interesting combo!
    And all the Harry Potter love! I remember getting that same edition of OotP and just ignoring everything else there was in the world to read it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I didn’t actually read the Order of the Phoenix till a year after I first got it. I was about 10 and made a bet with a friend that I could finish it in a week (which was a big deal at the time lol). The memory of turning the last page and all the feels is probably the most clearest memory I have of my childhood!

      Like

  7. I couldn’t help but laugh when I read that you’re 20 but are mistaken for 16. The same thing happens to me all the time. I’m going to be 27 in July (July 20th, we’re birthday month twins), but people still think I’m 14-16 years old. I get carded every single time, I have people ask me if this is my first drive from just getting my license, etc. It’s a little annoying, but I’m getting to the age where it’s OK. LOL.

    Yes, these food questions are making me hungry as well!

    Loved your interview! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol all my mom’s friends tell me when I’m 40 I’ll be grateful, but honestly I just want to walk into a grocery store by myself and not have people stare at me like I’m a lost child. 😂😂😂 Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  8. I NEED FOOD! GIMME FOOD! *The food monster had been unleashed* OOOH! My grandparents were originally from Pakistan, before the partition of India and Pakistan. I now live in South India where the heat DOES NOT END! Harry Potter, AAAH! I can’t WAIT for the sequel/ play.

    And, Sakina is SUCH a pretty name! New Follower:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I really hate the heat, so I’m glad I live in Canada lol ☺️. I’m so excited for the play! I’ve already preordered it! ❤️

      Like

  9. I was already hungry before reading this post, and now I’m HUNGRY, and I hope we have chocolate or cookies. I agree about the oranges; I don’t dislike them, but they are such a PAIN to eat. (I used canned mandarins a lot because they’re so much easier to work with.) The problem with oranges is that they have that white pulpy stuff and EW. Hence I why drink Sunny D and not real orange juice. Fun fact: I never read past THE GOBLET OF FIRE in the Harry Potter series (I was in elementary school!), and I still haven’t seen every episode of LOST (but I want to). Aww, that school photo, and I love that photo of the HP books (and am now following you on IG). AND CHRISTMAS, YES. This interview was totally fun, and it would be so cool if interviews were more laidback and personal-without-being-personal like this. Thanks so much for joining in on the extravaganza!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AHHH! Thanks for commenting! Lol I had some chocolate right after I finished writing this ☺️ You definitely need to read Harry Potter. The first few books were really good, but it just gets better from there! I seriously need to rewatch Lost at some point. Honestly sooo many feels watching that show! I’m really excited for this blogging extravaganza! Thanks for coming up with the idea 😄

      Like

Leave a Reply!

