Bookish Things

January Wrap-Up

I’m a few days late, but better late than never!

Here are the books I read this month along with my thoughts 🙂

51m0EuOe8EL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_


NIGHTFALL  

By: Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski
Rating
: 3.5/5 ⭐️’s

My Thoughts:
I was supposed to write a review for this, but I got swamped with midterms and assignments literally 2 weeks back from break.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was unique, a little scary at times (I scare easily), and definitely mysterious. However, I did predict a lot of what ended up happening in the second half of the book, mainly because there were a lot of obvious clues. The world building was good for the first book in what might be a series(???), but it still left me wanting to learn more about where these people lived and why the sun only comes out every 14 years – is this some post-apocalyptic Earth or another planet? The characters were not my favourite, though they were pretty consistent throughout the book. I just didn’t really “feel” for any of them. The book had a nice, satisfactory ending, but I honestly don’t think I’ll be picking up the next book, only because I don’t feel the need to find out what might happen next.

THE RED HEADED LEAGUE – 4/5 ⭐️’s

A CASE OF IDENTITY – 3/5 ⭐️’s

THE BOSCOMBE VALLEY MYSTERY – 3/5 ⭐️’s

I kind of got into a Sherlock Holmes kick at the start of the month and read these on the bus to and from university. I really enjoyed The Red Headed League because it was surprising and quite creative. For the other two, I ended up guessing the mystery before the end, but I just loved the writing so much I couldn’t give it a rating below 3 ⭐️’s. Also, Benedict Cumberbatch does an AMAZING job portraying Sherlock Holmes! I’m glad I finally got around to reading these 🙂

IMG_1711
Check out my Instagram @aforestofbooks

LANDLINE
By: Rainbow Rowell
Rating: 3.5/5 ⭐️’s

This was my first Rainbow Rowell book and unfortunately I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would. I’m just not that into contemporary, BUT I’m trying to branch out on what genres I read.

I’m planning on writing a review for this book! If a review isn’t up on my blog by the end of this month, spam me on Instagram!

 

I’ll have a February Tentative TBR up hopefully next week!

Love,
Sakina ❤️

Leave a Reply!

