Bookish Things

The Reader Problems Tag

Hey everyone!

So I finished writing my poetry essay at around 2 in the morning and decided the best way to celebrate would be to do the Reader Problems Tag. This tag was originally created by About to Read and I saw it first on Readwritelove28‘s blog (who tagged all her readers😊).

Here are my answers:

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I’m assuming I have 20,000 books on my Goodreads to-read list, because if I had 20,000 unread books in my house I think I would go crazy! I don’t really have a rhyme (lol, get it 😉) or reason when it comes to picking what to read next. I pretty much just go through the list and whichever book stands out and sounds interesting I’ll read.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I would definitely quit! I hate wasting my time reading something I’m not enjoying. If the book is okay, I’ll end up skimming through the rest of it just to find out what happens, but I tend to not rate those books because I feel like I actually haven’t properly read it.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

Last year I was two books away from reaching my goal of 50, so I did what anyone else would do and read two very short books. It’s not exactly cheating is it?

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I don’t cope. I cry (*figuratively*). I can’t stand not having a matching series – it annoys me sooo much. I also hate it when one book in a series is taller than the others. Like why would they do that???

5. Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I’ll usually scour the book’s Goodreads page for a negative review. Once I find one, I’ll like it and feel satisfied that I’m not the only one!

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I actually don’t cry when I’m reading. Like I’ve never cried at all – not even if my favourite character dies! I’ll usually just sit there in shock and then spend the next week thing about it.

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?

I always reread! Even if that means having to reread the entire series from the beginning. I don’t necessarily do it because I don’t remember what happened – I mean sometimes I forget little details that I think might be important later on – but my main reason for rereading is the experience. Rereading a series from start to finish is so satisfying!! You feel like you’ve just witnessed something miraculous, like you’ve been a part of the whole adventure right along with the characters in the book.

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I’ve never had anyone ask me to borrow a book, except my siblings, which isn’t that big of a deal because I can say “NO” without caring too much 😏. The problem is that I’m too nice and I would probably say “yes”, give them the book, and then when they never return it, I would probably never ask for it back. Maybe this is one of the underlying reasons why I don’t own many books. If I don’t have books, I can’t let people borrow them 🙂

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

I just wait. I don’t like forcing myself to read. If I don’t feel like reading, and instead I want to sit and binge-watch the entire first season of Vikings in 4 days (*might have done that recently*), then I will. I think it’s important to read for fun and to read when you want to. Forcing yourself to read will just put you into an even deeper reading slump. Just wait it out and eventually you’ll get tired of watching Netflix and will turn back to books.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Probably none. I don’t buy books unless I’m a 100% sure that I’m going to like the books. I’ll usually wait until there are enough reviews out there for me to make a good judgement. Then, I might buy the book. If it’s the first book in a series, I might borrow the book from the library to try it out before buying the rest of the books.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

I’ve bought 7 new books in the past two months and I haven’t touched any of them. Like I really want to read them, but I’m just not in the mood. So I guess I have to wait and see when I feel like picking one of them up. Hopefully soon because I can’t justify buying more books if I haven’t read the ones I have at home.

5 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

    1. Yaaay! I find that the GR challenge motivates me to read more. Last year I set a goal of 20 books, but as I started reading more I increased my goal by a few more and then eventually decided to try for 50. It’s the most I’ve read in a long time and honestly makes me so happy! I’m glad you liked my answers 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You should definitely do the GR challenge! I love being able to record what I read and it’s so easy! I’m also constantly updating my status while I read and it’s nice to look back on them if I end up rereading the book!

    I always wait until all the books are out before buying the entire series, just in case they decide to change something!

    Thanks for replying!!!

    Like

  2. Ahh this is such a cool tag haha 😀
    We readers have so many problems -sighs-
    With the GR challenge – I’ve never done that actually! But I definitely should~! Will do from now on haha 😀
    I DO THE SAME WITH GR AND THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS – that’s the one time I love negativity hahaha >.<
    BUT UGH YEAH I TOTALLY GET THAT SERIES NOT MATCHING THING – My Infernal Devices series has two books of the same edition and the third book is just…huge, and I can't put them together on the same shelf!
    I can relate to like ALL of these haha – cool tag! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply!

