Bookish Things

Bookish Goals 2016!

So school has started and I can already tell I’m going to be pretty busy for the next few months. I’m currently reading Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski and it’s pretty good so far (really creepy actually 😱). But it’s taking me a while to read because I don’t have a lot of time. I’m supposed to be reading The Iliad right now (lol) and I have readings for my other classes as well. I also have to write a poem for my writing class and I’m stuck – it’s been a while since I’ve written creatively.

*Update: I did end up finish Nightfall and I’m thinking of attempting to write a short review. I ended up reading about half of The Iliad and it’s honestly so good! I highly recommend it (it’s a million times better than Shakespeare)! Also I kind of wrote a poem, but I’m not sure if it’s any good.*

Anyway, lets get on with my blogging goals for 2016.

  1. Write and publish one blogpost per week (at least).
    I’m pretty new to blogging and I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to write every week. Since this blog isn’t only about books, there will probably be weeks where I’m just complaining about all the readings, tests, and assignments I have to do. I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to blog more during the summer, or when I’m procrastinating (like right now), but at the moment I want at least one blogpost up every week.
  2. Write at least 6 book reviews this year (once every two months). Again, this might change during the summer or if I end up reading a really good book. I’m not really sure how good I’ll be at writing reviews. I kind of write reviews on my Goodreads, but they’re pretty short and not that detailed.
  3. Comment on other blogs.
    I’ve been doing pretty well so far. I love being able to communicate (and fangirl 😍) with people about things we both enjoy. My friends aren’t that into reading anymore because of school and I think I annoy them by talking about how much I love a certain book or character. Interacting with the bookish community, whether through blogs or BookTube, brings me back to my elementary school years when I read more and had friends who loved to read and talk about books. I guess this is an opportunity to make new friends who have similar interests as me. 😊
  4. This relates to the previous point: get to know other book bloggers and bookish people!
    As I’m really new to this I’ve been trying to do my best to comment on blogs, follow blogs, and interact with other bloggers on social media. I’m not the best on social media, unfortunately. I refuse to get Tumblr because I know my productivity will fly right out the window. But Twitter and Instagram haven’t been too bad so far (*crosses fingers*).

giphy-2

Onto book goals for 2016:

  1. Read 50 books.
    This was my goal last year and I decided to stick with it again this year. I’m not sure how crazy this semester and my final year of university will be. I also went through a pretty long reading slump during the summer and almost thought I wouldn’t be able to make it. I ended up reading two very short books before the end of the year. (Btw, does reading one of Sherlock’s mysteries count as one book? I’ve fallen in love with Arthur Conan Doyle’s writing and I love reading his stories while on the bus. But they’re really short and quick reads. I feel like I’m cheating in a way…)
  2. Finish the Lord of the Rings!
    I started LOTR a while back and got through the first book and halfway through The Two Towers. And then I stopped. My reason is weird, so hear me out. I was at the part of the Battle of Helm’s Deep and I just couldn’t picture what was going on – like the different attack fronts and all of that. I tried looking back at the movies, but it still didn’t make sense, so I gave up.giphy-2
    Sad, I know. But I really want to finish the books this year.
  3. Read Rick Riordan.
    I’m a fail at life. As a Classics Minor I should have read the Percy Jackson books a while ago, but I never got around to it. It’s funny because I gave the Sea of Monsters to a friend as a Christmas gift (not knowing it wasn’t the first book smh).
  4. Finish any unfinished series.
    I’m sure I have a lot of unfinished series, but I decided to pick two this year: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyers and the Seven Realms series. I read Cinder last year and LOVED it! But I didn’t continue with the series because I wanted to buy all the books (I read Cinder on Overdrive). Now that Winter is out, I think I’ll buy all the books this summer and marathon through them. As for the Seven Realms, I read the first two books and half of the third. Then I’m not sure what happened. I started skipping through the pages and peeking ahead (I know, I’m terrible 😞). So in order to not ruin the books, I put them aside. But I really want to finally figure out what happened!
  5. Read more classics.
    I bought Frankenstein and Jane Eyre in December, so I definitely want to get to those. I also want to try Tolstoy – specifically Anna Karenina (I really want to watch the movie, but I refuse to until I read the book), and also War and Peace (b/c Lily James is staring in the BBC series😍). I’d also like to read more Jane Austen. I’ve read Pride and Prejudice (😍❤️ Mr. Darcy) and Sense and Sensibility (which was okay, but a little slow at times), and now I really want to read Emma because I’ve heard so many good things. The problem with classics is that they take time and I need to read another book alongside it so I don’t get bored or burned out.
  6. Read more physical books.
    I never thought the day would come that I would prefer ebooks to physical books. But the problem is that the only time I really get to read is when I’m on the bus to and from school. So reading on my phone is a lot easier than pulling out a book from by backpack. I also never used to buy books until recently, so now I have a small stack of physical books to read from (I’m lazy and I hate going to the library).

Other bookish goals:

  1. Work on Instagram account.
    I see all these beautiful Bookstagram accounts and try to remind myself that I’ll eventually get there. It’s definitely a lot of work and I unfortunately don’t own a ton of books or even a proper bookshelf, let alone Funko pops (which I really want!). I guess I have to unleash the creative part of my brain that has remained dormant for so long.
  2. Attend BookCon.
    Even though I just started out blogging, I kind of have the rare opportunity to attend. Chicago isn’t too far from Ontario and my dad will be working in the States from now on. I’m probably going to drag my sister along, so I’m not alone, but I think it will be a fun experience. If any of you are attending, comment down below. Maybe we’ll bump into each other 😊.

Okay, so this post is waaay too long. I need to stop. Hope you all have a good Thursday and weekend!

13 thoughts on “Bookish Goals 2016!

  1. I love your bookish goals!! I was thinking about developing mine more, and yours definitely served as inspiration 🙂 I have not yet entered college, and I can’t imagine how tough it must be to balance between school work and your bookish passions (besides other responsibilities that you must have). I particularly like how your goals are so specific rather than general. About goal #2, I remember reading the Hobbit last year, and I couldn’t really follow through. Keep in mind that I have never really watched the films (was never interested), but I feel that this is one of those series (like Harry Potter and Star Wars) that will continue to be a massive hit worldwide. I wanted to read it for ‘general knowledge’ purposes, but I couldn’t understand it… I don’t know if it’s due to my lack of English proficiency or knowledge or whatnot, but I was considering rereading it again.. I actually bought the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings #1 in physical copies (so that’s kinda exciting haha, as most of my CR’s are on my Kindle).
    All of your other goals seem so exciting 🙂 I didn’t know about BookCon before!! I have maybe heard about it, but as I live in far from the States right now (I live in Peru) I never really looked it up. But I’m starting college fall of this year, so hopefully sometime in the future I might get the opportunity to go to one! If you do go, I would love to hear your experience! 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah it isn’t easy balancing everything in university. It’s difficult to find time to read, let alone write blogposts, but I’m hoping to write up a few during my break 🙂

      I read The Hobbit a few years back and really enjoyed it! High Fantasy can be a bit difficult to get into. I would suggest maybe watching the movies – it might make the book easier to understand. Hopefully I finish LOTR this year!

      I’m so EXCITED for BookCon! I don’t live in the States (I’m actually Canadian), but my dad transferred to the States for work, so we’ll probably be going back and forth. I haven’t bought my tickets yet, just in case it doesn’t happen, but I’ll definitely blog about!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I might follow your suggestion and watch the films first before reading the Hobbit and the subsequent books.
        akjfdslfja;s I can’t imagine the amount of people you would meet in a BookCon! If you do go, I’ll be excited for you!! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your bookish goals for 2016! Writing/posting 1 blog post per week sounds great. Commenting is SUPER FUN so yay for that! Also…I SHALL BE YOUR FRIEND! ❤ Seriously though, bookish friends are the best! And oh my gosh you must read Rick Riordan!

    Like

    1. I’m afraid I’m already failing at posting once a week – I’m already drowning in midterms. I love how welcoming the book community is!!! WE SHALL BE THE BEST OF FRIENDS!!! 😘❤️❤️

      Like

  3. Jane Eyre and Frankenstein are two of my favourite classics of all time. I’m trying Tolstoy this year too—maybe we can motivate each other to actually do that? PJ is one of my favourite series too—it’s absolutely incredible, and the continuation is even better.

    #commenting365

    Like

    1. Yes! I’m hoping to start Anna Karenina after second semester is over, so sometime in May. I’ll motivate you if you motivate me 😊 Reading with someone else always makes it easier. I feel like I’m not going to like the first PJ series – maybe because it’s geared towards a younger audience, but we’ll just have to wait and see.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great goals! They’re very realistic. I also want to read PJ this year (I read the first book in March last year) and catch up on all my unfinished series. I’m awful and reading one or two books in a series and then never finishing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do that all the time! Usually the next book in the series is on hold at the library or on Overdrive and by the time I actually get it, I’m already reading something else.

      Like

Leave a Reply!

