Bookish Things

End of the Year Book Survey 2015!

Happy New Years!  I hope you all had a wonderful New Years Eve! I spent yesterday cleaning the house because the end of the year means end-of-year “spring” cleaning. Now that all the vacuuming, laundry, and dusting is done, I get to start worrying about all the lectures I’m behind on for my physiology class. However, since I’m such a good procrastinator, I decided that I would write my very first official blogpost.

I was originally going to do my Top 5 Favourite Series of 2015, but then I saw Nori (ReadWriteLove 28) post her End of the Year Survey (originally created by Jamie) and thought it would be a fun way to start off the year.

Here are my answers to Jamie’s survey 🙂

reading-stats-2015-1024x278

Number of books you read: 50
Number of re-reads: 4
Genre you read the most from: Fantasy

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?
Fantasy: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Dystopian: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (I read the Hunger Games trilogy for the first time this year – I know I’m very behind)

Fairy Tale Retelling: Cinder by Marissa Meyers

SciFi: Gone by Michael Grant

Historical Fiction: Blood and Beauty by Sarah Dunant

Middle-Grade: Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

Contemporary: Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
Shadowborn by Moira Katson

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
Light and Shadow trilogy by Moira Katson

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?
Ahhh…too many series to choose from: Gone, Lunar Chronicles, Magisterium…(can’t pick one)
Best sequel would have to be Catching Fire and best series ender would have to be The Enchantress by Michael Scott.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?
Ummm…all of them. I don’t think I could choose just one. Marissa Meyers, Moira Katson, Erin Morgenstern, Michael Scott (why do they all have names that start with M????), Suzanne Collins, Heather Dixon…

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
Hunger by Michael Grant

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
Cinder by Marissa Meyers

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?
Entwined by Heather Dixon

11. Most memorable character of 2015?
Temar from the Shadow and Light trilogy by Moira Katson

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?
Tie b/w Blood and Beauty by Sarah Dunant and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read?
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (I hate myself for waiting this long)

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?
I posted a pic of my favourite passage from The Night Circus on my Instagram.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?
A Scandal in Bohemia by Arthur Conan Doyle at 85 pages
Hunger by Michael Grant at 590 pages

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most
Shadow’s End by Moira Katson

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
Catwin and Temar from the Shadow and Light trilogy

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
Catwin and Miriel from the Shadow and Light trilogy

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?
I want to pick Temar again, but I’ll go with Luke from The Mortal Instrument series.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?
Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Austenland by Shannon Hale, and City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?
Entwined by Heather Dixon

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
Blood and Beauty by Sarah Dunant

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
Shadow’s End by Moira Katson

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?
Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

book-blogging

1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2015?
Alexandra from Twirling Pages 🙂

2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2015?

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?
Smiling/trying to hold back laughter while reading on the bus to and from university

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?Balancing school with reading and my 2 month reading slump over the summer

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Bookoutlet 

Bookbub

Book Depository

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
Goodreads Reading Challenge of 50 books ✔️✔️✔️

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?
The Glittering Court by Rachelle Mead

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?
Serafina and the Twisted Staff by Robert Beatty

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?
I’d like to write at least 6 book reviews this year and post once per week (book or non-book related).

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

 

11 thoughts on “End of the Year Book Survey 2015!

  1. You loved so many books that I haven’t even heard of! I’ve bookmarked this page. I’m going to have to use this post to do some research on these books I don’t know. Especially the ones you loved.

    Like

    1. Oh that makes me so happy! I love recommending people books they’ve never heard of! It’s a nice change from reading what everyone else is reading 😊

      Like

  2. OMG. I need a copy of The Star-Touched Queen in my life! It’s not normally a book that I’d choose, but it looks amazing.

    Good luck with everything this year, and Happy New Year!

    Like

  3. Great post. This survey takes so much time to do every year, I feel we should all be awarded a medal for completing it. You are a little late to The Hunger Games, but you got there eventually and that is what counts. I LOVED Catching Fire, such a fantastic sequel. I highly recommend Six of Crows, it was one of my top reads of the year.

    Great answers! I hope you have a great reading year in 2016! 🙂 Here’s my survey if you want to check it out.

    Like

    1. I can’t wait to read Six of Crows!! I’m waiting for a time when I’m not so stressed because of school (probably in the summer) so I can fully enjoy it 😊 I checked out your post – I really need to read Everything Everything and The Martian now! I’m not that into contemporary, but Everything Everything sounds like a fun, easy read.

      Like

  4. I also read 50 books for my Goodreads challenge – WHAT?! (we’re pretty awesome). I seriously need to get on the Lunar Chronicles bandwagon. I don’t think I’ve read Midnight in Austenland either, which I need to track down (I love Austen and Austen-inspired books/movies). I’m a HUGE fan of The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy – have you read the other books yet?? This is kind of the perfect first blog post because it helps people get to know what kinds of things you’ve been reading.

    Like

    1. I think you’ll love Midnight in Austenland! I wasn’t sure about it at first b/c the protagonist is a divorced woman in her 40s (most of the books I read have younger main characters), but it was so surprising and a little scary at times too! 😊 I really loved the world building in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but I’m just not a fan of the romance – it really annoyed me the entire book – but at the same time I loved learning about the chimaera and the battle b/w them and the angels. I might continue the series at some point though.

      Like

  5. YEAH! You finally read the Hunger Games! *throws confetti* Better late then never, right? 😉 Definitely one of my favorite trilogies of all time, so I’m so glad to hear you liked it as much as I did. And Cinder is amazing too! I can’t wait to see what you think about the sequels. (In my opinion each book just gets better and better. xD) Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post + answers! ❤

    Like

    1. There was so much hype surrounding the Hunger Games that I was kind afraid that I would end up hating it or find it really disappointing. I kind of picked it up at random and I’m glad I did because my opinions were my own and not influenced by anyone else. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply!

